5 stars · fiction · young adult

That Summer by Sarah Dessen

That Summer

Author: Sarah Dessen [also wrote Along for the Ride, Lock and Key, What Happened to Goodbye and The Truth About Forever]

Pages: [hardcover]: 240

Memorable Quote: Everyone can reach back to one summer and lay a finger to it, finding the exact point when everything changed. That summer was mine.

Favorite Characters:
Haven & Sumner

Summary:

For fifteen-year-old Haven, life is changing too quickly. She’s nearly six feet tall, her father is getting remarried, and her sister—the always perfect Ashley—is planning a wedding of her own. Haven wishes things could just go back to the way they were. Then an old boyfriend of Ashley’s reenters the picture, and through him, Haven sees the past for what it really was, and comes to grips with the future.

Review:

 I loved this book just as much as every other Sarah Dessen novel I’ve read, though this book takes a different route than the easy summer romances I’ve become used to. That Summer is more about a girl growing comfortable with herself and her own skin than her finding the perfect guy. That makes this book stand out more, and is exactly why I liked it.

Once again, a book by Sarah Dessen has supporting characters that are just as amazingly thought out as the main character. Sumner is brilliantly off the wall, doing things the opposite way that anyone else would do them. Haven’s sister, Ashley, who could get very annoying at times, was still interesting and stuck true to her personality. I easily fell in love with this cast of characters.

Although when I first started this book, I expected something different from what was given to me, I ended up loving the story all the same. Haven has insecurities just like every other teen girl. Hers take form in her height, which at 6 feet tall, isn’t exactly typical for a girl her age. So she hates it. I think this makes her easily relatable, because everyone I know hates something about themselves that they have absolutely no control over, and eventually have to learn to accept.

I give That Summer 5/5 stars. It was an awesome read that wasn’t too hard, perfect for the beach or a long car ride. I’ll be reading this one over and over, and I hope fans of Sarah Dessen as well as other young adult readers give this a chance.

4 thoughts on “That Summer by Sarah Dessen

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

