4 stars · Fantasy · fiction · series · young adult

Blue Bloods by Melissa de la Cruz

Blue Bloods

Author: Melissa de la Cruz

Pages: [hardcover] 320

Blue Bloods #1

Memorable Quote: Black is the color of night. White is the true color of death.

Favorite Character: Oliver

Summary:

When the Mayflower set sail in 1620, it carried on board the men and women who would shape America: Miles Standish; John Alden; Constance Hopkins. But some among the Pilgrims were not pure of heart; they were not escaping religious persecution. Indeed, they were not even human. They were vampires.The vampires assimilated quickly into the New World. Rising to levels of enormous power, wealth, and influence, they were the celebrated blue bloods of American society.

The Blue Bloods vowed that their immortal status would remain a closely guarded secret. And they kept that secret for centuries. But now, in New York City, the secret is seeping out. Schuyler Van Alen is a sophomore at a prestigious private school. She prefers baggy, vintage clothes instead of the Prada and pearls worn by her classmates, and she lives with her reclusive grandmother in a dilapidated mansion. Schuyler is a loner…and happy that way. Suddenly, when she turns fifteen, there is a visible mosaic of blue veins on her arm. She starts to crave raw food and she is having flashbacks to ancient times. Then a popular girl from her school is found dead… drained of all her blood. Schuyler doesn’t know what to think, but she wants to find out the secrets the Blue Bloods are keeping. But is she herself in danger?

Could those vampire legends really be true? Steeped in vampire lore and set against the glittery backdrop of New York City, Blue Bloods will be devoured by Melissa de la Cruz’s legion fans.

Review:

 I started and finished this book with mixed feelings. I’d heard from a friend that I really needed to start this series, but I wasn’t sure it was something I’d enjoy. So because I had nothing else to read, I picked this up and started reading. It was slow to get into, but the plot was interesting, and that was really the only thing that kept me hooked.

I detested the writing style of Blue Bloods. It was as if someone took something like The Clique and added vampires, making the characters a few years older. There was too much obsession over clothes, with every new scene dropping brand names like the author was getting paid for every mention, or it was supposed to impress me, or something of that sort. Even the one character, Schuyler (and I could not for the life of me figure out how to pronounce this until someone in the book called her ‘Sky’) who dresses like she doesn’t care what anyone thinks, is embarrassed whenever someone makes fun of the way she dresses. What? Not only that, but she is content to lust after a guy who keeps ignoring and being quite rude to her. What’s attractive about that?

Ahem. Anyway, there were things I really liked about the book, too. The plot was really interesting, and I liked the whole concept of ‘Blue Bloods’, although it came in gigantic information dumps of telling, not showing, which could be aggravating. Some parts of it I didn’t understand, but there was no further information, and I’d end up confused. But, the second half of the book especially, the plot was enough to see me through. With a mysterious monster on the loose and several things happening at once, I was flipping the pages to see what would happen next. That’s all I really want in a book.

Despite being unsure of how I feel about  Blue Bloods, I think I’ll continue on with this series, even if the writing tends to annoy me. I really want to know what’s going to happen next, although I’ll make sure to rent this from the library, instead of buying it. It’s not great enough for that. I give this novel 3.5/5 stars.

One thought on “Blue Bloods by Melissa de la Cruz

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

