5 stars · Fantasy · fiction · romance · series · young adult

Abandon by Meg Cabot

Abandon

Author: Meg Cabot also wrote Avalon High, Size 12 is Not Fat, Insatiable and Airhead]

Pages [hardcover]: 304

Abandon Trilogy #1

Memorable Quote: And in what fairy tale would John ever be any sane person’s idea of Prince Charming anyway? He was the opposite of charming. More like Prince Terrifying.

Favorite Characters: John & Pierce

Summary:

Though she tries returning to the life she knew before the accident, Pierce can’t help but feel at once a part of this world, and apart from it. Yet she’s never alone . . . because someone is always watching her. Escape from the realm of the dead is impossible when someone there wants you back.

But now she’s moved to a new town. Maybe at her new school, she can start fresh. Maybe she can stop feeling so afraid.

Only she can’t. Because even here, he finds her. That’s how desperately he wants her back. She knows he’s no guardian angel, and his dark world isn’t exactly heaven, yet she can’t stay away… especially since he always appears when she least expects it, but exactly when she needs him most.

But if she lets herself fall any further, she may just find herself back in the one place she most fears: the Underworld.

Review:

 I love anything to do with Greek mythology. I love anything to do with Meg Cabot. Combine the two, and I was certain I’d find a novel I’d love. And I was happily right.

The book started out a little slow for me, with it jumping around between Pierce adjusting to her new home and flashing back to the important moments that led her to this move. While I think the suspense of not knowing exactly what happened to her added to the book, I would sometimes get confused and forget where she was in the present while she told the reader about the past.

I think John was a great character, perfectly moody and grumpy but also lonely. And Pierce was fantastic too-she’d do things without thinking of the consequences, but that was a huge part of who she was. And she cared about everyone and everything, putting herself last.

The setting was great. I could picture the island perfectly, from the cemetery to Pierce’s house. I think it added a lot to Abandon, especially how the translation of the name directly added to the creepiness, and what was going on.

There were some plot twists thrown in there that I could have never seen coming. They had me rereading sections just so I could make sure I wasn’t making things up. These kept my attention and got me turning the pages quickly, wanting more. I finished the book in two days because of this.

I give Abandon 5/5 stars. It was a fantastic book, with an ending that was both surprising and leaving me begging for more. I can’t wait until the second book of this trilogy comes out!

5 thoughts on “Abandon by Meg Cabot

  1. After reading Princess diaries and the airhead trilogy by Meg Cabot, I really wanted to read this book because I loved her previous books and this one seemed to be for slightly older readers by looking at the cover. Meg Cabot’s books which i read previously have a female main character and something that happens to her which makes the whole story (eg a simple teenager becoming a princess, two different girls change bodies and now – a girl comes back from the dead?).

    After reading this book I can say it is quite different to the previous books I read from Meg Cabot. The style of writing was very interesting to read and quite fast paced. I would recommend Abandon to many friends and I know they would like it, although the main character is a bit annoying sometimes when I read about her outlook on life :).

    I don’t want to give out any details of the story, but I can say, I really want to read the next book in the series.

    Like

  2. Nice review!
    I actually didn’t really mind the back and forth, it sort of added up nicely by the end.
    I’d give it a 4/5 myself though. I loved the Greek mythos and the scenery of the tale but I just didn’t like how Pierce was all “I love you unconditionally, kissing me is okay!” at the end… haha I guess I’m picky but I like my drawn out romances 🙂

    Like

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

