5 stars · action · fiction · series · young adult

Scorpia Rising by Anthony Horowitz

Scorpia Rising

Author: Anthony Horowitz

Pages [hardcover]: 402

Book 9 of the Alex Rider series

Memorable Quote: A German philosopher once wrote that he who fights monsters must take care that he doesn’t become one himself.

Favorite Characters: Alex & Jack

Summary:

Scorpia has dogged Alex Rider for most of his life. They killed his parents, they did their best to con Alex into turning traitor, and they just keep coming back with more power. Now the world’s most dangerous terrorist organization is playing with fire in the world’s most combustible land: the Middle East. No one knows Scorpia like Alex. And no one knows how best to get to Alex like Scorpia. Until now.

The chases have never been more intense, the fights more treacherous, or the risks so perilous to mankind. And this time, Alex won’t get away.

Review:

I’ve loved the Alex Rider series even since I happened to randomly get the first book. Though it sat in a cardboard box, gathering dust, for far longer than I’d like to admit, I finally picked it up. That’s when, years ago, I became so obsessed with wanting to know what was going to happen with him next. And now, finally, it’s all coming to the end. Imagine my disappointment when I found out this would be the last Alex Rider book!

Alex is an awesome character, and in this novel I could really seen how he’s grown and developed over the course of the series-a little over a year in his life. He’s still a teenager, and that year would have brought enough change as it was, without adding his tendency to be assigned missions by MI6. Usually missions that involve life or death situations. And I love how he still retained his childishness throughout it, without becoming a mundane, boring, flat character.

The setting for this book was perfect. I could really picture everything that was going on, from the scenes filled with action to the more relaxing moments where the plot built. Placing the story in such a great place was definitely a great decision, and even though I’ve never been to Cairo or seen many pictures of it, the images were still in my mind.

Anthony Horowitz has the ability to create some of the best villains ever, and the main bad guy in Scorpia Rising was no different. He was evil, insane, and driven into Alex’s life. Even though he was easy to hate, I loved how he was portrayed and developed.

I loved Scorpia Rising and give it 5/5 stars. I’m sad to see this series go, but it was amazing while it lasted. This was a fantastic conclusion, and I couldn’t imagine it getting any better. I’m more than satisfied with how it all ended, though it did get quite sad. I really think everyone should give this series a chance, even if it’s not what you’re usually into! I never imagined I’d like a book about a teen spy, and this turned out to be one of the best series I’ve ever read.

4 thoughts on “Scorpia Rising by Anthony Horowitz

  1. If you like Alex Rider you should read the Jimmy Coates books by Joe Craig, now that Alex Rider has finished! They’re really good and just as exciting and interesting as Anthony Horowitz’s books.

    Like

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

