5 stars · fiction · romance · series · steampunk · young adult

Goliath by Scott Westerfeld

 
Goliath

Author: Scott Westerfeld [also wrote So Yesterday, Extras]

Pages [hardcover]: 548

Book 3 of the Leviathan Trilogy
Book 1: Leviathan
Book 2: Behemoth

Memorable Quote:

Favorite Characters: Alek & Deryn

Summary:

Alek and Deryn are on the last leg of their round-the-world quest to end World War I, reclaim Alek’s throne as prince of Austria, and finally fall in love. The first two objectives are complicated by the fact that their ship, the Leviathan, continues to detour farther away from the heart of the war (and crown). And the love thing would be a lot easier if Alek knew Deryn was a girl. (She has to pose as a boy in order to serve in the British Air Service.) And if they weren’t technically enemies.

The tension thickens as the Leviathan steams toward New York City with a homicidal lunatic on board: secrets suddenly unravel, characters reappear, and nothing is at it seems in this thunderous conclusion to Scott Westerfeld’s brilliant trilogy.

Review:

I’ve been in love with Scott Westerfeld’s books for . . . longer than I can remember. Several years. And when I picked up Leviathan, the first book of this trilogy, a few years ago, I never imagined the extreme anticipation I’d have for this conclusion! It seemed to take forever for the buildup to stop and the finale to actually arrive, but it was well worth the wait. This is an end I both loved and enjoyed.

Alek and Deryn are two fabulous characters. Alek, prince of Hohenburg, is wonderfully awkward and courageous at the same time. He’d do anything for his friends and allies, including risking his own life and reputation, and thinks nothing of it. Deryn doesn’t let the limitations society puts on girls hold her back, and decides to follow her passion even if that means dressing as a boy. And that makes her attraction to a certain prisoner a squick awkward . . .

I don’t think I’ll be able to rave about this book enough! First, the pictures, something that attracted me to the trilogy in the first place. The artistry is perfectly wonderful, making everything pop vividly and letting me picture every aspect-both Clanker and Darwinist-of the story precisely. The entire steampunk genre is still new to me, and while I’m not entirely certain where I’ll go next with it, I’m definitely excited to read more like this. It’s not something I’d like to sample and give up on.

I hate it when I get too excited for a book and it doesn’t meet my expectations. I never had that problem with Goliath. From cover to cover-beginning and ending with more pretty pictures!-the action, suspense, romance . . . All worth it. And though I hate to say goodbye, it ended smartly and didn’t leave me hanging.

I shouldn’t have expected anything less from Scott Westerfeld. 😀

I give Goliath 5/5 stars. Go try this trilogy! Now!

2 thoughts on “Goliath by Scott Westerfeld

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

