5 stars · fiction · young adult

The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky

The Perks of Being a Wallflower

Author: Stephen Chbosky

Pages: [hardcover] 213

Memorable Quote: And in that moment, I swear we were infinite.

Favorite Character: Charlie

Summary:

Caught between trying to live his life and trying to run from it, Charlie is navigating through the strange worlds of love, drugs, “The Rocky Horror Picture Show”, and dealing with the loss of a good friend and his favorite aunt.

Review:

I’ve been meaning to read this book for a while, and since banned books week was this past week, I decided it was as good a time as ever to pick it up. I’m so glad I did-and happened to spot it on display at the library-because this is really a novel that gives you something to think about. Although it might contain some things people deem offensive, or talk about things not often mentioned it literature, The Perks of Being a Wallflower is definitely a great read.

Charlie is a shy and awkward person, and he’s had to deal with some horrible things in his life. And he’s trying to get his life together, though he doesn’t know exactly how to do that. I know everyone feels that on some level, they don’t fit in with everyone else, but with him it’s more evident than it usually is. With a leading character like this, the other characters managed to shine, too: Sam, Patrick, even Bill and Brad.

Some parts of the book made me laugh aloud. Others left me shocked, and still more made me want to cry. This novel was a roller coaster of emotions, and I loved all of it. Even the points where I was tempted to put it down, because I was afraid of where it would go on from there. And yet, I’m so glad I kept with it, because this is a novel that will be sticking with me for a while.

I know that The Perks of being a Wallflower is being made into a movie, set to be released in 2012. I can’t wait to see that! After reading the book and falling in love with it, and knowing the cast has my favorite actor, Logan Lerman, staring as Charlie, and actress, Emma Watson, as Sam, has definitely raised my expectations. Here’s hoping it’s worth seeing!

I give this book 5/5 stars. Don’t be turned away by the controversy it’s caused. Read it, and decide for yourself. I hope you’ll find out you liked it as much as I did.

3 thoughts on “The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

