books to movies

Books to Movies: The Boy in the Striped Pajamas

 

I read The Boy in the Striped Pajamas a few years ago, before I even started this blog. The novel was nothing like I expected; actually, thinking back on it, I can’t even remember what expectations I’d held, because they were blown away. It was one of the most heart-wrenching, horrible and beautiful stories I’ve read, not only about the Holocaust, but about anything meaningful.

The other day, I was messing around on Youtube and happened to spot that this entire movie was posted on there for free. Having a bunch of free time and nothing better to do, I decided I’d watch a little bit of it-and found myself finishing the entire thing an hour and a half later. The movie was just as great as the book, capturing the innocence of Bruno and contrasting it against the harsh reality of concentration camps and Nazis. Coming from a unique perspective, the film was at times thought-provoking, funny, and incredibly sad. I loved every minute of it, and now this is one of my favorite movies.

I recommend everyone check out either the book or the movie. They’re both fantastic!

If you want to watch the movie, you can find it easily by searching for it on Youtube. And check out the trailer! Just watching this makes me want to rewatch the entire movie:

3 thoughts on “Books to Movies: The Boy in the Striped Pajamas

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

