4 stars · fiction · romance · young adult

Stay by Deb Caletti

Stay

Author: Deb Caletti

Pages [hardcover]: 313

Favorite Characters: Finn & Gulliver

Memorable Quote:
If fate is a shape-shifter, then loves is too. It can be, anyway, in its most dangerous form.

Summary:

Clara’s relationship with Christian is intense from the start, and like nothing she’s ever experienced before. But what starts as devotion quickly becomes obsession, and it’s almost too late before Clara realizes how far gone Christian is—and what he’s willing to do to make her stay.

Now Clara has left the city—and Christian—behind. No one back home has any idea where she is, but she still struggles to shake off her fear. She knows Christian won’t let her go that easily, and that no matter how far she runs, it may not be far enough….

Review:

Stay is a book that I never thought I’d end up enjoying. It took me a long while to settle down and force myself to read this, but once I was a few chapters in, I was hooked. The premise seemed too simple, something that would never capture my interest. But the writing style, the beautiful way the story was told, made the plot seem ten times better, and had me wanting to know what was going to happen next.

The chapters alternate between telling about Clara’s past with Christian and present life at the beach with her father. While there was a lot of nothing happening, and things that held great impact over her life weren’t as shocking as they could have been, the words carved an intimate and accurate picture of how she was feeling, while descriptions of emotion and setting alike were at once magical and unreal and stark with reality.

I especially liked the little footnotes Clara added to her own narrative. That was a fun part of the book that I really enjoyed, and it added some really funny parts to the novel, too.

While this won’t be one of my favorite books, it’s still up there, and makes me want to read more by Deb Caletti. She has a wonderful and distinctive voice, and I think that if she has enough skill to make me enjoy something I didn’t really want to read about, I’ll only love her even more if another of her novels is more appealing to me. I give Stay 3.5/5 stars, and recommend it.

3 thoughts on “Stay by Deb Caletti

  1. I love the way you’re open minded enough to let something you didn’t think you’d enjoy hook you. Sometimes people’d preconceptions can be too strong to allow that and a reviewer needs to be open.

    Like

    1. Thank you so much! That means a lot. I love being surprised that way, and makes me think that there’s something to love in every book. If only people’d give it a chance.

      Like

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

