Everfound by Neal Shusterman

23 Oct

 

Everfound

Author: Neal Shusterman

Book 3 in the Skinjackers Trilogy
Book 2: Everwild

pages: 512

favorite characters: Jix & Mikey

memorable quote:
“Because,” said Mikey. “the Dancing Bear wants us to suffer.”

summary:

While Mary lies in a glass coffin aboard a ghost train heading west, her minions are awaiting her re-awakening by bringing lots of new souls into Everlost to serve her. Meanwhile Jackin’ Jill has met Jix, a fur-jacker—a skin jacker who can take over the bodies of animals, most notably jaguars. Jix serves a Mayan god who collects Everlost coins, and has his own agenda. In the concluding volume of The Skinjacker Trilogy, Neal Shusterman reveals new sides of the characters of Everlost, who are pitted against each other in a battle that may destroy all life on Earth.

review:

I’ve been in love with this series ever since I picked up book one, Everlost, a few years ago, and I didn’t even think then that it’d turn out to be a trilogy. Neal Shusterman is an awesome author-I’ve read other books by him like Full Tilt and Unwind, both equally creepy and fantastic. That’s how the Skinjackers Trilogy turned out to be: Horrifying and exciting.

I love the world of Everlost, down to the vapors of Afterlights and the odd items and buildings that have happened to cross over. Yet Mary, main antagonist in the books, is a great character to read about, while being completely controlling and insane. She’s great in her own way, though I wouldn’t hesitate to sink her into the earth, given the chance. I love a book where even the characters I hate can be completely explored and not just left in the flat bad-guy status.

Every moment I thought I’d figured out exactly where the book was going, it took a completely different direction. These plot twists, coming out of nowhere, kept me on the edge of my seat, hooked until the last page. Every part was filled with action, suspense, humor, romance, tears, laughter . . . I especially liked the “High Altitude Musical Interludes”. Those were hilarious!

The ending…I dreaded. I never wanted it to come to a stop, to have to say good-bye to a bunch of wonderful characters and an invisible world that I can’t say I’d want to visit. But I couldn’t have asked for a better way for it all to conclude. Every minute of it was perfect.

BEST IN THE TRILOGY. 5/5 stars

4 Responses to “Everfound by Neal Shusterman”

  1. Tahlia Newland October 23, 2011 at 5:16 pm #

    Sounds interesting. Looks like it’s time I checked out book one.

    • Kayla October 23, 2011 at 5:47 pm #

      Yes! Please do! They’re fantastic!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. October 2011 Wrap Up « Caught Between the Pages - November 4, 2011

    [...] Wallflower-Stephen Chbosky The Son of Neptune [Heroes of Olympus #2]-Rick Riordan Stay-Deb Caletti Everfound [Skinjackers Trilogy #3]-Neal Shusterman Steel-Carrie Vaughn Books I purchased: 2 Won in Contest: 0 Borrowed from friend: 1 Checked out from [...]

  2. Best of 2011! « Caught Between the Pages - January 9, 2012

    [...] years now? At least. And I couldn’t have been happier at the farewell I got. Same goes to Everfound, the last book of the Skinjacker trilogy. (And, if I had to pick a favorite of the four, this [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 433 other followers

