4 stars · fiction · romance · science fiction · series · young adult

Shift by Jeri Smith-Ready

Shift

Author: Jeri Smith-Ready

Pages [hardcover]: 367

Shade #2
Book 1: Shade

Favorite Characters: Dylan & Zachary

Summary:

Aura’s life is anything but easy. Her boyfriend, Logan, died, and his slides between ghost and shade have left her reeling. Aura knows he needs her now more than ever. She loves Logan, but she can’t deny her connection with the totally supportive, totally gorgeous Zachary. And she’s not sure that she wants to.

Logan and Zachary will fight to be the one by her side, but Aura needs them both to uncover the mystery of her past—the mystery of the Shift.

As Aura’s search uncovers new truths, she must decide whom to trust with her secrets…and her heart.

Review:

I was so excited to read this sequel to Shade! The first book was wonderful, and I think I put off reading this for so long because I knew the third and final book in the trilogy wouldn’t be coming out for a while (and past-me was right: It won’t be released until summer 2012. Can I wait that long? No.) Now that I’ve finally gotten around to reading it, I think I may have built up my expectations far too much.

Shift gave me everything I could have wanted-romance, ghosts, running from law enforcement. Yet I expected to have the actual plot, the full mystery of the Shift, furthered much more than happened, instead of the book’s main focus being on the love triangle. Sure, it is an important part of the book, and I can’t say I disliked every aspect of it. But when Aura is supposed to be facing life or death situations, and figuring out her past and future, she’s busy moping because either Logan or Zachary is angry with her. And both boys ended up annoying me at different parts of the novel, something that neither really redeemed themselves from, so that wasn’t helpful, either.

But, other than that, there were really great scenes in there that captured my interest, and other points that hooked my curiosity and dragged me in for good. Now that I can assume that all of the parts that had me doubting whether I would actually enjoy the novel or not were probably solved before the third book, I’m doubly excited to read it. I desperately need to know what is going to happen!

I recommend this book if you like a good paranormal romance, but if you’d like more action and ghosts than love and gushy parts, it’s probably not for you.

DISAPPOINTING BUT WORTHWHILE. 3.5/5 stars

One thought on “Shift by Jeri Smith-Ready

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

