5 stars · fiction · romance · young adult

My Beating Teenage Heart by C. K. Kelly Martin

My Beating Teenage Heart

Author: C.K. Kelly Martin

Pages [hardcover]: 288

favorite characters: Ashylyn & Breckon

summary:

Ashlyn Baptiste is falling. One moment she was nothing—no memories, no self—and then suddenly, she’s plummeting through a sea of stars. Is she in a coma? She doesn’t remember dying, and she has no memories of the life she left behind. All she knows is that she’s trapped in a consciousness without a body and she’s spending every moment watching a stranger.

Breckon Cody’s on the edge. He’s being ripped apart by grief so intense it literally hurts to breathe. On the surface, Breckon is trying to hold it together for his family and his girlfriend, but underneath he’s barely hanging on.

Even though she didn’t know him in life, Ashlyn sees Breckon’s pain, and she’s determined to find a way help him. As her own distressing memories emerge from the darkness, she struggles to communicate with the boy who can’t see her, but whose life is suddenly intertwined with hers. In alternating voices of the main characters, My Beating Teenage Heart paints a devastatingly vivid picture of both the heartbreak and the promise of teenage life—a life Ashlyn would do anything to recover and Breckon seems desperate to destroy—and will appeal to fans of Sarah Dessen, John Green, and David Levithan.

review:

I loved this book from start to finish, and really wasn’t ready to let it go. The plot is simple enough that without great writing and characterization, it wouldn’t have been the story it is. Yet C. K. Kelly Martin did a wonderful job creating Breckon’s world and showcasing it through his and Ashlyn’s alternating viewpoints.

The story starts off with Ashlyn not knowing anything of her past, so we learn about her as she begins to recover her memories. As she isn’t entirely certain about where she is or why the only person she can follow around is Breckon-while she can’t seem to find her own family-mystery surrounds the pair until the last few chapters, when all is revealed. I found myself eagerly anticipating the end, wanting to know what all of the buildup was about. It definitely doesn’t disappoint, though it is unexpected.

This novel is great, and I highly recommend it. I flew through the pages and finished it in record time. The writing is simple and flows nicely, the style something I definitely like. I definitely need to read more by this author!

UNBELIEVABLY BRILLIANT. 5/5 stars

Advertisements

One thought on “My Beating Teenage Heart by C. K. Kelly Martin

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s