5 stars · Fantasy · fiction · romance · series · young adult

The Goddess Test by Aimee Carter

The Goddess Test

Author: Aimee Carter

The Goddess Test #1

pages: [paperback] 293

memorable quote:
“Do you think he’s cute?”
I rolled my eyes. “He’s a god, Mom. Of course he’s cute.”

favorite characters:
ava & kate

summary:

It’s always been just Kate and her mom—and her mother is dying. Her last wish? To move back to her childhood home. So Kate’s going to start at a new school with no friends, no other family and the fear her mother won’t live past the fall.

Then she meets Henry. Dark. Tortured. And mesmerizing. He claims to be Hades, god of the Underworld—and if she accepts his bargain, he’ll keep her mother alive while Kate tries to pass seven tests.

Kate is sure he’s crazy—until she sees him bring a girl back from the dead. Now saving her mother seems crazily possible. If she succeeds, she’ll become Henry’s future bride, and a goddess.

review:

I loved this book so much! I’ve only just started to get into reading modernized bits of mythology-most recently, through Meg Cabot’s Abandon, or the Percy Jackson series-but I think I’ll be reading these books for a while. Kate is a fun character to read about, because she definitely isn’t perfect. While I don’t agree with all of the decisions she made, they didn’t make me like her any less. And Henry seemed to be the stereotypical tall, dark, and brooding love interest, but there was definitely more to him than I saw at first.

The only negative thing about The Goddess Test I can say is that I found it predictable. I’m not sure if it was because I already knew a lot about Greek mythology, both from school and my own interest, or if it was purposefully put in that way, or what, but I figured out most of the plot twists before they happened. While this didn’t detract from my enjoyment of the book, I can only hope that the sequel, set to be released later this year, will up the ante a little.

But I don’t regret already having a good grasp of the Greek gods beforehand, because there were little things embedded in the story that could have been easily overlooked, but made me laugh because I could figure out how it either was or wasn’t relevant or was just another play on mythology.

I definitely recommend The Goddess Test. For those who like mythology, for those looking to ease into it. Someone looking for a good romance or story about the power of a mother and daughter’s love, this is for you.

RIDICULOUSLY ADDICTIVE. 5/5 stars

3 thoughts on “The Goddess Test by Aimee Carter

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

