5 stars · dystopia · fiction · romance · series · young adult

Crossed by Ally Condie

Crossed

Author: Ally Condie

Pages [hardcover] 367

Matched #2
Book 1: Matched

memorable quote:
Everyone has something of beauty about them.

favorite characters: eli & cassia

summary:

The hotly awaited second book in the dystopian Matched trilogy

In search of a future that may not exist and faced with the decision of who to share it with, Cassia journeys to the Outer Provinces in pursuit of Ky – taken by the Society to his certain death – only to find that he has escaped, leaving a series of clues in his wake.

Cassia’s quest leads her to question much of what she holds dear, even as she finds glimmers of a different life across the border. But as Cassia nears resolve and certainty about her future with Ky, an invitation for rebellion, an unexpected betrayal, and a surprise visit from Xander – who may hold the key to the uprising and, still, to Cassia’s heart – change the game once again. Nothing is as expected on the edge of Society, where crosses and double crosses make the path more twisted than ever.

review:

 I’ve been dying to read this book ever since I finished ‘Matched’! That was one of those books that I heard everyone loved, so I decided to read, but still had my doubts about it when I picked it up. Luckily, they were blown away when I actually read it, and I think Crossed was even better. Something that I thought I would easily dismiss has turned out to be one of my favorite dystopian trilogies.

This time around, some mysteries from the past were cleared up, secrets were revealed, and friendships were tested. New characters were introduced, and while I absolutely loved some of them, I couldn’t quite figure out others-and not only because they were purposefully trying to be mysterious. I loved having every other chapter told from Ky’s perspective. At first I didn’t think I’d like the new voice-though there was no other way to tell what was happening to him in the Outer Provinces-and allowed his character to develop and let the reader understand some of the difficult decisions he is making.

I loved the integration of ‘Do Not Go Gentle’ into Cassia’s personal rebellion as well as the theme of the book. That poem has practically followed me around all of my life, and it’s one of my favorites. I’m glad it’s one of the few that’s managed to survive despite the Society’s best attempts to eliminate all other pieces of art.

The ending seemed abrupt and forced for me, as if there wasn’t a good point to leave off for the next book. I didn’t think it fit in with the pace of the rest of Crossed, and although I wasn’t happy with it, there was still enough to make me come back for the next one. I’m definitely sticking with these characters to see what happens next, because this book was more of a transitional ‘journey’ book, getting from point a to b. While I liked reading it, finding out more about the characters-particularly Ky and Xander-I think what I’m really looking for will happen in the next installment. I can’t wait!

GREAT CHARACTERS, GREAT FUN. 5/5 stars

One thought on “Crossed by Ally Condie

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

