5 stars · fiction · horror · paranormal · romance · young adult

Teeth: Vampire Tales edited by Ellen Datlow & Terri Windling

Teeth

Editors: Ellen Datlow & Terri Windling

(Because I’m too lazy I’m not going to list every author because there are like 20 but suffice it to say they’re all equally talented and awesome. Yeah, I know right? You’d think with this many stories they wouldn’t all be that good. But they were. I’m getting ahead of myself.)

Pages : [paperback] 452

memorable stories: things to know about being dead, all smiles, vampire weather, &  best friends forever

summary:

Sink your teeth into these bite-sized tales exploring the intersections among the living, dead, and undead. Features stories by Neil Gaiman, Melissa Marr, Cassandra Clare, Holly Black, Garth Nix, and many more.

review:

I ended up randomly choosing to check this book out at the library last week, not expecting much from it as I haven’t been very into vampires lately. Not because of a specific book, just . . . tired of it all, I guess. But I was sucked in by seeing the great authors mentioned on the cover (which I suppose was the intended purpose of them doing such a thing) and ended up not just enjoying but loving this!

I listed a few of my favorite stories above and it was hard to even narrow it down to four out of . . . nineteen? I think there is something like that many stories. I liked every one of them. Really. How often can you pick up a collection and say that? And one where every story is about vampires! And they were all unique! I loved how some of them took the idea of a vampire from various cultures around the world, all slightly differing from one another, and made it their own. There were funny stories that had me laughing uncontrollably, devastating ones that made me want to cry, ones that were hopeful and ones where you lost all hope . . .

Altogether, a great mix. There wasn’t too much of any one thing. Male and female protagonists and antagonists, first person narration as well as third and a bit of second thrown in one. (Read it to see what I mean. Come on. Do it.) Love and romance and betrayal and creepy creatures that will definitely give me nightmares.

It’s hard to find many things to be critical of because each short story was so unique and interesting and I definitely can’t analyze each in turn. Maybe I can just say that I was sad that it ended? This anthology really surprised me in the best way, coming up and getting me addicted. Just goes to show that once you think you’re done with a certain topic, authors unite to drag you back into it. I’m not going to complain.

FANG-TASTIC. 5/5 stars

2 thoughts on “Teeth: Vampire Tales edited by Ellen Datlow & Terri Windling

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

