5 stars · dystopia · fiction · romance · series · young adult

Pandemonium by Lauren Oliver

Pandemonium

Delirium #2
Book 1: Delirium

Author: Lauren Oliver [also wrote Before I Fall]

Pages: [hardcover] 375

memorable quote:
That’s the thing: We didn’t really care. A world without love is also a world without stakes.

favorite characters: julian & lena

summary

I’m pushing aside the memory of my nightmare,
pushing aside thoughts of Alex,
pushing aside thoughts of Hana and my old school,
push,
push,
push,
like Raven taught me to do.
The old life is dead.
But the old Lena is dead too.
I buried her.
I left her beyond a fence,
behind a wall of smoke and flame.

Lauren Oliver delivers an electrifying follow-up to her acclaimed New York Times bestseller, Delirium. This riveting, brilliant novel crackles with the fire of fierce defiance, forbidden romance, and the sparks of a revolution about to ignite.

review:

OH.MY.GOD.

I have waited too long to read this book! I loved, loved, loved Delirium when I read it, finishing it in only a few days, and this sequel was no exception. Because most series tend to go downhill from book one, I was pleasantly surprised with Pandemonium, but then again, I’ve loved all of Lauren Oliver’s work thus far, so I should never have doubted her.

I’m trying to review this without spoiling either book, which is extremely hard because so much is changed here. Change of setting, cast of characters, plot. Now that Lena’s learning more about herself as well as revealing dark secrets about her past, she’s still the awesome, fighting,  bad-ass girl I was rooting for in book one . . . Even more so in this one.

The love issue was even creepier than before. I remember reading Delirium and easily imagining how our world could turn into that one. It’s always scary when such an awful society could actually come to exist, if we developed the technology needed to take the ability to love away. I feel horrible just thinking about it . . . And whenever stories or references to dissenters and those in love pop up in these books, I get incredibly happy and root for all of those who are ready to rebel.

I’m definitely going to continue with this series! . . . I wish I had the next book now. I need to go look up when it’s actually scheduled for release, but I’m afraid to see how many months or years I’ll have to wait. I need more. Until then, I’ll keep raving about this book to my friends and trying to convince everyone to read it.

So, you there. Yeah, you. You should start this series, if you haven’t already, or read this sequel. GO.

ALL YOU NEED IS LOVE. 5/5 stars

5 thoughts on “Pandemonium by Lauren Oliver

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

