Underworld by Meg Cabot

12 Jun

Underworld

Abandon Trilogy #2
Book 1: Abandon

author: meg cabot

pages [hardcover]: 336

memorable quote: “This is exactly why Patrick and I chose not to have children,” he muttered. “So we would never have to have conversations like this.”

favorite characters: henry & john

summary:

Escape from the realm of the dead is impossible when someone there wants you back.
Seventeen-year-old Pierce Oliviera isn’t dead.
Not this time.
But she is being held against her will in the dim, twilit world between heaven and hell, where the spirits of the deceased wait before embarking upon their final journey.
Her captor, John Hayden, claims it’s for her own safety. Because not all the departed are dear. Some are so unhappy with where they ended up after leaving the Underworld, they’ve come back as Furies, intent on vengeance…on the one who sent them there and on the one whom he loves.
But while Pierce might be safe from the Furies in the Underworld, far worse dangers could be lurking for her there…and they might have more to do with its ruler than with his enemies.
And unless Pierce is careful, this time there’ll be no escape.

review:

I wanted to like this book. I really, really did. Only I just couldn’t bring myself to. I’ve loved Meg Cabot’s writing ever since I first started the Princess Diaries, so many years ago. Since then I’ve read most of her YA books and a few of her adult ones and have liked every one of them. Until this trilogy came along. I’m not sure what it is, but I can’t bring myself to care very much about what is going to happen with Pierce and John.

I think part of that might be the fact that he brought her down to the Underworld, against her will, and plans on keeping her trapped there for all eternity. And she’s understandably upset by this, yet she doesn’t do much to try and fight him on it or try to get herself out of it. She seems to accept her fate. Within the span of a day. And keeps going on about how it’s alright because he loves her, he just wants to protect her, etc. If I had a guy doing things like that, where I needed to wheedle to get him to let me visit the surface for five seconds to save someones life, I’d run away from him as fast as I could. No matter how misunderstood she might insist he is, or how nice his intentions might be.

Phew. Okay. Now that I’ve gotten that out of the way, I like John as a character, not exactly as a love interest. He has a great, complicated past that’s not too corny. He’s manipulative and tricky and is true to himself. Awesome. But he lies to Pierce all of the time. And she accepts that. Not awesome.

I liked the concept of the Underworld, though some parts of the book were confusing and made little to no sense. I liked the entire celebration of Coffin Night and how her uncle was incorporated. But a lot of the characters seemed changed from the last book, for no reason. I did like Kayla . . . not that I’m biased toward her because of her name, or anything. ^^

I don’t recommend this book for those who like twisted myths, because this is about the only one I’ve read that I haven’t liked. But if you like mysterious bad boys,  complicated YA romance, or creepy storylines, this might be one for you.

DISAPPOINTINGLY DREARY. 2/5 stars

3 Responses to “Underworld by Meg Cabot”

  1. tryingtoknowthyself June 12, 2012 at 10:38 pm #

    Good review, I plan on reading this in a few days. I definetely agree about the apathetic stance Pierce takes when it comes to John in this series. It’s really kind of annoying lol

    • Kayla June 14, 2012 at 5:03 pm #

      I definitely want to see what you think! Yes, I wish she’d actually do something about all of it. x.x But, oh well! And thank you!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. June 2012 Wrap Up « Caught Between the Pages - July 2, 2012

    [...] Underworld – Meg Cabot [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 426 other followers

