5 stars · Fantasy · fiction · romance · series · young adult

The Lost Prince by Julie Kagawa

The Lost Prince

The Iron Fey: Call of the Forgotten #1

author : julie kagawa

pages : [paperback] 379

favorite characters : kenzie & puck

summary :

Don’t look at Them. Never let Them know you can see Them.

That is Ethan Chase’s unbreakable rule. Until the fey he avoids at all costs—including his reputation—begin to disappear, and Ethan is attacked. Now he must change the rules to protect his family. To save a girl he never thought he’d dare to fall for.

Ethan thought he had protected himself from his older sister’s world—the land of Faery. His previous time in the Iron Realm left him with nothing but fear and disgust for the world Meghan Chase has made her home, a land of myth and talking cats, of magic and seductive enemies. But when destiny comes for Ethan, there is no escape from a danger long, long forgotten.

This novel is one of Julie’s books that will have you demanding for the second one as soon as you finish your read.

review :

The Iron Fey series by Julie Kagawa is one of my favorites of all time. When I heard that she was doing a spinoff with Ethan Chase at the center, I knew that I had to get my hands on it. There’s an entirely new concept to it and we get to see Ethan as he is grown up. Plus, old characters return, which is fantastic because I love all of them. It’s nice seeing them in slightly different roles and seeing how their lives are now, several human years after the Iron Fey series concluded.

While Ethan is a good leading character, I’m hoping that I’ll like him more in the second book. I ended up caring about the secondary characters a lot more than him, except for Todd. Because they’d only met a few days beforehand I couldn’t fathom the fixation he had on him. Ethan says that he’s been keeping himself away from people for years to keep them safe. Doing something like that for such a long time would definitely make it habit and make it hard for anyone to break through the barrier. Yet Kenzie manages it in a few days. It all just doesn’t make too much sense to me.

But I loved this new story. The creepy, eerie new enemy; their newest allies; the perfect descriptions of everything. I could really picture the Never Never. Of course Grim was his usual fantastic self and I was so happy to see Puck again.

I think that this series has a lot of potential and I can’t wait to see where it will go. A lot of this novel just seemed to be setting up the major plot points, but it was done in a way that was so interesting and captivating that I didn’t mind in the slightest. I hope that everyone will give this series a chance, even if you haven’t already fallen in love with the Iron Fey. You’ll still be able to enjoy The Lost Prince!

5/5 stars

One thought on “The Lost Prince by Julie Kagawa

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

