5 stars · Fantasy · fiction · paranormal · romance · series · young adult

Supernaturally by Kiersten White

Supernaturally

Paranormalcy #2
Book 1: Paranormalcy

author: kiersten white

pages : [hardcover] 336

memorable quote : “Sometimes I wanted to take a memory – one perfect memory – curl up in it, and go to sleep.” 

favorite characters : lend & evie

summary :

Evie finally has the normal life she’s always longed for. But she’s shocked to discover that being ordinary can be…kind of boring. Just when Evie starts to long for her days at the International Paranormal Containment Agency, she’s given a chance to work for them again. Desperate for a break from all the normalcy, she agrees.

But as one disastrous mission leads to another, Evie starts to wonder if she made the right choice. And when Evie’s faerie ex-boyfriend Reth appears with devastating revelations about her past, she discovers that there’s a battle brewing between the faerie courts that could throw the whole supernatural world into chaos. The prize in question? Evie herself.

So much for normal.

review:

I love this series so much! The first book, Paranormalcy, is a book that surprised me with how much I ended up loving it. I’ve been dying to read the sequel ever since, though I didn’t end up getting to it until I bought a copy of the first book for myself. Now I’m so glad that I got to read more about Evie, Lend, and the other paranormals and can’t wait to move onto the third book of the trilogy! Though I’ll be sad to say goodbye; these are fantastic characters!

I was afraid that Supernaturally wouldn’t live up to the expectations that I was left with in the last book and I’m thankful that those fears never became reality. I loved the way this book flowed, showing how Evie’s attempt at normalcy isn’t blending with her contacts in the paranormal world. While it wasn’t as action packed as I might have liked, that was only to be expected to get all of the information in, and I’m hoping that the final book will kick it up  a notch. Though this book does do what most sequels do and serves as less of a significant impact, more like a swift transitional novel.

I can’t wait to see the characters learn and grow even further. While there were a few things I might have changed about Supernaturally, I still enjoyed it so much and really recommend it to anyone who’s already started the series. To those who haven’t, read Paranormalcy now and you’ll fall in love with it like I did!

5/5 stars

2 thoughts on “Supernaturally by Kiersten White

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

