promotion

Finding it hard to read classic books?

I know that I do! Despite what they say about not judging a book by its cover, I think that’s something that everyone does, at least to some extent. Whenever I’m assigned a book for school or think about picking up a copy of something it seems that everyone should read, sometimes I’m deterred by what I see. The covers can be old and outdated, something that immediately makes me think that I won’t be able to relate to anything inside the book. Entering a story with that sort of mindset isn’t right, especially when more often than not I’d be entirely wrong.

That’s why I’m so happy to share with you some extremely gorgeous book covers of classics I’ve never thought much about picking up before. I have a copy of Emma at home that I’ve been meaning to get to reading, but because I haven’t been forced into it or attracted to it I’ve never sat down to even start it. Take a look at this new cover for the classic:

Look at how gorgeous that is! It makes me that much interested in the story behind it all. And I can’t deny that it looks gorgeous sitting on my bookshelf, because the spine is just as attractive.

Haven’t seen enough? I can remember reading Great Expectations in my freshman year of high school, then vowing never to read it again. I don’t think it was a fault of the book so much as the teacher who attempted to teach it, but I haven’t found the proper motivation to allow myself to give it another fair try until now.

Just seeing it in a different light with this fantastic cover is enough to let me think that it might be a better story for me this time around. After all, if it looks so different (and modern, and pretty) then maybe it can be much different from what I remember.

If you’re looking to read any of the classics or to retry ones you’ve attempted before, this is the line that I’d recommend for you. And if you have an old favorite, why wouldn’t you want it to look just as good as you know it is?

Other books with fabulous covers include Wuthering Heights, Sense and Sensibility, Pride and Prejudice, and Jane Eyre. Check them out online here.

Then let me know what you think! My favorite has to be Emma, but I think all of them do a fantastic job of bringing classic books into the modern age.

One thought on “Finding it hard to read classic books?

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

