5 stars · fiction · paranormal · romance · series · young adult

The Name of the Star by Maureen Johnson

The Name of the Star

Shades of London #1

author : maureen johnson

pages : [hardcover] 372

memorable quote : “And if we get caught, I will claim I made you go. At gunpoint. I am American. People will assume I’m armed.” 

favorite characters : jo, boo, & rory

summary :

The day Louisiana teenager Rory Deveaux arrives in London marks a memorable occasion. For Rory, it’s the start of a new life at a London boarding school. But for many, this will be remembered as the day a series of brutal murders broke out across the city, gruesome crimes mimicking the horrific Jack the Ripper events of more than a century ago.

review :

I LOVE THIS BOOK.

Maybe I just have an obsession with people and ghosts and crimes. One of my favorite series of all time is the Mediator series by Meg Cabot, after all. It’s too bad that I haven’t found enough in YA to satiate this new obsession of mine . . But I’m lucky enough that what I have read of it has been fantastically awesome.

The Name of the Star drew me in immediately, even when there wasn’t much of a plot to go on. The characters were so incredibly interesting and diverse. I love books with little side characters that have as much of a background and interesting personality as one of the main characters. This is one of those books, right from the start, so I knew that I’d be flipping through the pages. Not only that, it isn’t completely character driven, as you could guess because there’s a murderer on the loose. Which is wonderful to read about. Really.

I don’t think that I could gush about this enough. While the book is slowly paced in the beginning and huge plot points were made around the middle of the book (actually almost directly in the middle) I think that I liked it better that way. I liked that everything wasn’t immediately predictable from what I could read on the back cover. That’s why I didn’t include the full description of this from Goodreads because I think that it gives too much away. I much preferred being surprised by everything, because I only went by the summary on the back of the copy I have (the UK version) and it’s just enough to get you thinking. That’s all that is needed for something as filled with plot twists as this!

I really recommend this book. You need to read it, now. It’s easily one of my favorite books of the year and I’m so, so glad that there is going to be a sequel! I can’t wait!!

2 thoughts on “The Name of the Star by Maureen Johnson

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

