4 stars · fiction · romance · series · young adult

Pushing the Limits by Katie McGarry

Pushing the Limits

author : katie mcgarry

pages : [hardcover] 392

memorable quote : “Luke used to give me butterflies. Noah spawned mutant pterodactyls.”

favorite characters : echo & noah

summary :

No one knows what happened the night Echo Emerson went from popular girl with jock boyfriend to gossiped-about outsider with “freaky” scars on her arms. Even Echo can’t remember the whole truth of that horrible night. All she knows is that she wants everything to go back to normal.But when Noah Hutchins, the smoking-hot, girl-using loner in the black leather jacket, explodes into her life with his tough attitude and surprising understanding, Echo’s world shifts in ways she could never have imagined. They should have nothing in common. And with the secrets they both keep, being together is pretty much impossible.

Yet the crazy attraction between them refuses to go away. And Echo has to ask herself just how far they can push the limits and what she’ll risk for the one guy who might teach her how to love again.

review :

I am so glad that I finally had the opportunity to read this book! It isn’t something that I would normally pick up so I loved the opportunity to really get out of my comfort zone and see if I’d enjoy this. It’s a really character driven novel, with Echo and Noah having heartbreaking lives that will immediately hook you in and have you wondering how everyone could possibly have a happy ending. Echo and Noah might need each other, but the things each of them needs for themselves are what might end up tearing them apart.

This book is both captivating and frustrating. There were points when I did not want to put it down and wanted to read straight through to the end. Other times I was growing frustrated with the characters and the way that the writing was going and wanted things to take another turn in the way I liked, which it always ended up doing, though this detracted from my overall enjoyment.

I liked the minor supporting cast of characters as well, which is great because soon there will be a sequel (companion?) featuring other characters as the leads and I will definitely need to get my hands on that as well. This book was compelling, though-provoking, and really made me appreciate another book in the YA genre I would normally never look twice at. Judging from the cover and a few glimpses of the summary I assumed it was nothing more than a typical teen romance. I was wrong and I’m hoping you’ll give this book a chance as well.

4/5 stars

2 thoughts on “Pushing the Limits by Katie McGarry

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

