books to movies

Books to Movies : The Hobbit

 

Believe it or not, The Lord of the Rings series and The Hobbit are probably the only book to movie adaptations that I enjoy more than the books themselves. But before you get all angry with me over saying so, because I know there are plenty who’d think otherwise, I love seeing Tolkien’s wonderful settings and characters up on the screen. I can appreciate his creation, though his style of writing just isn’t something for me.

I was so excited to see The Hobbit because when the trilogy came out I wanted to read the books first (because that is something that everyone should do for all of these adaptations!) and I was too young to really be interested in going to the movies to see it. Now, I wish I’d been able to go to the midnight premiere . . but seeing it the week afterward was good enough!

This movie is long, like I’d expected. The Lord of the Rings movies were never short and even if there are two more movies coming out of this single book (something I wasn’t sure about at first, but now I’m happy for) there’s a lot of story to tell. I liked being able to get to know so many of the characters. With all of those dwarves, you’d think that it would be hard to even distinguish a few of them. And a few did manage to stand out and show their own personalities . . Though I probably recalled them more from their unique hairstyles.

Bilbo was wonderful! I think whenever I go off somewhere from now on I’ll need to shout that “I’m going on an adventure!!” Even if he is a bit bumbling, he seems more likable to me than he appeared in the book, and I look forward to seeing more of him in the next two movies. Here’s to a pair just as enjoyable as the first!

I hope that you’ll go and see The Hobbit, whether or not you’re a Lord of the Rings fan. It’s a fantastic movie you don’t want to miss out on!

2 thoughts on “Books to Movies : The Hobbit

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

