5 stars · fiction · romance

Silver Linings Playbook by Matthew Quick

Silver Linings Playbook

author : matthew quick

pages : [paperback] 289

favorite characters: pat & tiffany

summary :

Meet Pat Peoples. Pat has a theory: his life is a movie produced by God. And his God-given mission is to become physically fit and emotionally literate, whereupon God will ensure him a happy ending—the return of his estranged wife, Nikki. (It might not come as a surprise to learn that Pat has spent several years in a mental health facility.) The problem is, Pat’s now home, and everything feels off. No one will talk to him about Nikki; his beloved Philadelphia Eagles keep losing; he’s being pursued by the deeply odd Tiffany; his new therapist seems to recommend adultery as a form of therapy. Plus, he’s being haunted by Kenny G!

David O. Russell, the Oscar-nominated director of The Fighter, is helming his own adaptation of The Silver Linings Playbook. Due in theaters this Thanksgiving, the movie features Bradley Cooper (Peoplemagazine’s Sexiest Man Alive) in the role of Pat, alongside Jennifer Lawrence, Robert De Niro, Julia Stiles, Chris Tucker, and Jacki Weaver. As the award-winning novelist Justin Cronin put it: “Tender, soulful, hilarious, and true, The Silver Linings Playbook is a wonderful debut.”

review :

I LOVED this book! I honestly didn’t know what to expect going into it apart from the commercials I spotted for the movie on TV. I really wanted to see the movie but never got the chance to, and then my friend lent me the book instead! As I figure it’s always better to read the book before the movie, anyway, now I’ll really have the chance to compare the two! (Though I do love Jennifer Lawrence, so that might be a little biased. xD)

Having Pat tell the story was amazing. He was such an unpredictable, unreliable narrator that I never knew what was coming next. He never did, either, as he something has mood swings as a result of something that he can’t remember. He’s telling the story because he’s writing it all down so he can tell his wife about what he did while she was gone from him, in their “apart time”. But he writes in even the bad parts because he’s determined now to be a good husband and that means not lying about that kind of thing anymore. Because Pat can’t understand himself, it takes the reader the whole novel to figure out what he’s really like, too.

Tiffany was also a great character. Actually, all of the characters are great, though I don’t know if that simply comes from Pat’s blunt, to-the-point narrative. The writing style was spectacular enough to make me not mind that not much was happening for some of it. I don’t really enjoy watching football but Pat is obsessed with it. He made me care, too, with what he had to say about it and the effect it had on the people around him. If a book, or a narrator, can do something like that, I think it’s fantastic.

Pat thinks of his life in a movie, so my favorite part was definitely the montage. I loved reading about what parts he thought would be most important, what should be included in full and what needed to be breezed over. I can’t wait to see how this all fits into the actual movie!

I give The Silver Linings Playbook 5/5 stars. Pat has a great philosophy in life; he thinks that everything can have a happy ending, if you only look hard enough for the silver lining. I think that everyone could use some thoughts like that, and you might even fall in love with this book as well.

3 thoughts on “Silver Linings Playbook by Matthew Quick

  1. I must admit that I have read Silver Linings Playbook only after seeing the movie, but thanks to that I’m fan of both. In the movie I cheered for Tiffany and in the book I was a fan of Pat. It is an amazing story that moved me two times.

    Like

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

