Uncategorized

Books to Movies! Silver Linings Playbook

I read and loved Silver Linings Playbook back in  February and never got the chance to actually see the movie for myself until last week! I’ve heard nothing but good things about it and was especially excited because Jennifer Lawrence is in it and, of course, I’ve come to love her (and especially her interviews) after she took on the role of Katniss Everdeen in The Hunger Games.

I have to admit, though, that this is a movieI kind of wish I hadn’t read the book before because I know that I would have enjoyed it so much more if I didn’t already have the plot and characters in my head. They changed so much of it throughout the movie and even changed the ending; all of that and there were still little, unimportant things that were changed for the movie but it didn’t seem like they needed to be changed in the first place. I don’t like it when book to movie adaptations change little things for no reason whatsoever and The Silver Linings Playbook was completely full of that.

The characters also felt different, even the ones that they didn’t alter too terribly. Pat and Tiffany, the two main characters, were great. The supporting characters were a mess, looking at them as a fan of the book. Pat and his father were supposed to have a struggling relationship; the entire movie, though, his father is so happy to see him and wants to spend as much time as possible with him. Important character developing scenes for minor characters were cut out, which I totally understand, but what I don’t understand is why they decided to make a movie that, really, was a completely different story from the book.

I love the book. I like the movie, but only because I can step back and appreciate it for what it is if I absolutely don’t associate it with the book. Connecting the two together just makes the movie into one of the poorest adaptations I’ve seen in a while.

One thought on “Books to Movies! Silver Linings Playbook

  1. The film asks for us to look at the dysfunctional parts of ourselves, and it’s this raw honesty that helps smooth over the clichéd moments such as a climatic dance sequence. Good review.

    Like

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

