5 stars · Fantasy · fiction · romance · young adult

Tiger Lily by Jodi Lynn Anderson

 

Tiger Lily

author : jodi lynn anderson

pages : [hardcover] 292

memorable quote Sometimes I think that maybe we are just stories. Like we may as well just be words on a page, because we’re only what we’ve done and what we are going to do.

favorite characters : peter & tiger lily

summary :

Before Peter Pan belonged to Wendy, he belonged to the girl with the crow feather in her hair. . . .

Fifteen-year-old Tiger Lily doesn’t believe in love stories or happy endings. Then she meets the alluring teenage Peter Pan in the forbidden woods of Neverland and immediately falls under his spell.

Peter is unlike anyone she’s ever known. Impetuous and brave, he both scares and enthralls her. As the leader of the Lost Boys, the most fearsome of Neverland’s inhabitants, Peter is an unthinkable match for Tiger Lily. Soon, she is risking everything—her family, her future—to be with him. When she is faced with marriage to a terrible man in her own tribe, she must choose between the life she’s always known and running away to an uncertain future with Peter.

With enemies threatening to tear them apart, the lovers seem doomed. But it’s the arrival of Wendy Darling, an English girl who’s everything Tiger Lily is not, that leads Tiger Lily to discover that the most dangerous enemies can live inside even the most loyal and loving heart.

From the New York Times bestselling author of Peaches comes a magical and bewitching story of the romance between a fearless heroine and the boy who wouldn’t grow up.

review :

I love anything and everything to do with Peter Pan so of course I needed to get my hands on this book! Tiger Lily is unique in that it focuses on her story and not on Peter’s. It’s even told from Tinkerbell’s point of view. That difference was something that made me a little wary at first because I didn’t know if I’d like having Tink as a narrator and a different main character but I really loved this new interpretation and most of the things that were added to Tiger Lily’s – and Peter’s – story.

I loved seeing her life in the tribe and what shaped her personality and adventurous mind. The culture Anderson creates as well as the life of the entire island she describes comes to the reader in a way that really reminded me of a fairy tale which was something I loved. Although at times I had to admit that because this tale deviates so much from the original Peter Pan story, it’s less the prequel I thought that it was and more a wonderful reinterpretation that I’ll be returning to again and again.

Of course I kept waiting for Tiger Lily to meet Peter Pan and I loved the scenes that they had together, especially when they weren’t getting along very well. They were wonderful together and I really loved how their characters flowed and developed. They each had their own flaws as well as their wonderful characteristics.

The only problem I really had with this novel was the ending and that was almost what ruined it for me, though by kind of ignoring it I still love this book. I think that the end is just entirely out of character considering the original Peter Pan and the expectations that I had because of that regarding this book and any other interpretation that I might read. That’s just something that would never happen.

I give Tiger Lily 5/5 stars and recommend it for anyone looking to read a great fairy tale, both charming and heartbreaking.

5 thoughts on “Tiger Lily by Jodi Lynn Anderson

  1. I haven’t heard of this book until now and I think the story is very unique. I’d love to get a copy of the book now and read it but my TBR list is so looong at the moment. 😀 But I’ll definitely read this because it’s very interesting. 🙂
    And I really like the name Tiger Lily btw. It sounds feminine and at the same time brave. I think the name suits the main character very well.

    Like

    1. It’s very unique and so well written! I’d had it on my TBR pile for a while before I got to reading it and regret taking so long to read it. I love Tiger Lily’s name, too! It’s powerful and beautiful and describes her perfectly. 😀

      Like

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

