5 stars · Fantasy · fiction · paranormal · romance · series · young adult

The Mediator: Shadowland by Meg Cabot

Shadowland

The Mediator #1
Book 2: Ninth Key
Book 3: Reunion
Book 4: Darkest Hour

author : meg cabot

pages : [paperback] 287

memorable quote And try to remember what we discussed, Susannah. A mediator is someone who helps others resolve conflicts. Not someone who, er, kicks them in the face.

summary :

Suze is a mediator — a liaison between the living and the dead. In other words, she sees dead people. And they won’t leave her alone until she helps them resolve their unfinished business with the living. But Jesse, the hot ghost haunting her bedroom, doesn’t seem to need her help. Which is a relief, because Suze has just moved to sunny California and plans to start fresh, with trips to the mall instead of the cemetery, and surfing instead of spectral visitations.

But the very first day at her new school, Suze realizes it’s not that easy. There’s a ghost with revenge on her mind … and Suze happens to be in the way.

review :

I’m writing this review around rereading this book and I have to say that I’m loving the Mediator series a few years after the first time I read it just as much as I did back then. It’s awesome when a book like this can be enjoyed at any age, especially when the plot seems so simple. Suze is anything but a simple leading lady. She knows when to kick butt and when to be kind. She stands up for what she believes in but she’s not a total snob. All in all, I’d love to be a girl like Suze . . . Though it seems like seeing ghosts might be a little more trouble than it’s worth. At least Suze gets Jesse.

I also like how the main focus of this first book in the series wasn’t a romantic plot or some big, end-of-the-world thing, just Suze trying to save people from a vindictive ghost. She has the help of a very wonderful albeit odd group of friends, who I just love reading about as well.

This book is written pretty simply and can be read through in a day or two but that doesn’t lessen the impact of the story for me. While I love a good ghost story and, better, a great leading lady, there’s something special about the Mediator series that keeps me going back to it again and again. I wish that it was a book that more people knew about because it’s just wonderful!

If you’ve ever loved a Meg Cabot book, or want a great book to read, pick up Shadowland right now! You won’t regret it!

5/5 stars

8 thoughts on “The Mediator: Shadowland by Meg Cabot

  1. OMG I’m not the only one who re-read the Mediator series! It’s seriously one of my favorite series because of how kick-ass Suze is and how the book isn’t all about how she “swooned” or “pined” for Jesse. The romance just sort of developed slowly and it was really cute 🙂

    Like

    1. YAY! I’m so glad to hear I’m not the only one either!! I am so in love with this series, and Suze, and the romance! Ugh. I’ll never get over it. 😀

      Like

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

