3 stars · Fantasy · fiction · romance · science fiction · series · young adult

Icons by Margaret Stohl

 

Icons

Icons #1

author : margaret stohl

pages : [hardcover] 428

favorite character : ro

memorable quote : “You, my friend, are an imbecile. You could have killed me twenty times, on the Tracks. I’m surprised you’re not dead.”
Ro shrugs, happily. It’s nothing he hasn’t heard before, and nothing he doesn’t see as a compliment.

summary :

Your heart beats only with their permission.

Everything changed on The Day. The day the windows shattered. The day the power stopped. The day Dol’s family dropped dead. The day Earth lost a war it didn’t know it was fighting.

Since then, Dol has lived a simple life in the countryside — safe from the shadow of the Icon and its terrifying power. Hiding from the one truth she can’t avoid.

She’s different. She survived. Why?

When Dol and her best friend, Ro, are captured and taken to the Embassy, off the coast of the sprawling metropolis once known as the City of Angels, they find only more questions. While Ro and fellow hostage Tima rage against their captors, Dol finds herself drawn to Lucas, the Ambassador’s privileged son. But the four teens are more alike than they might think, and the timing of their meeting isn’t a coincidence. It’s a conspiracy.

Within the Icon’s reach, Dol, Ro, Tima, and Lucas discover that their uncontrollable emotions — which they’ve always thought to be their greatest weaknesses — may actually be their greatest strengths.

Bestselling author Margaret Stohl delivers the first book in a heart-pounding series set in a haunting new world where four teens must piece together the mysteries of their pasts — in order to save the future.

review :

I was really excited to get the chance to read this book because I’ve heard so much about this coauthor of the Beautiful Creatures series that I just needed to read her own start to a series as well. Unfortunately, in a genre that is too often overdone these days, Icons simply fell flat for me.

I really liked the pacing of the book. It kept me hooked, even when plot points and characters frustrated me to no end. The writing wasn’t something that I noticeably loved but it didn’t detract from my enjoyment of the narrative, either. I could sit back and enjoy the ride that Icons took me on, though I wasn’t actively engaged as a reader, and I think that’s what I was looking for.

The major problem I had with this novel would have to be the characters, particularly Dol. I could see where the author was trying to take the main four individually and direct their personalities but I never fully connected to any of them. This was mostly because at some points each of them made decisions that were completely unlike the character they’d just been set up to be, mostly because it seemed to move the plot along. I didn’t like how Ro’s personality seemed to change immediately when Lucas came along. Love triangle incoming.

I think that I enjoyed the first part of the book the most because there was a great part filled with world building and seeing Dol in a relaxed, stable environment really made me get a feel for her and her character. Though, as I said, that perception was altered throughout the rest of the book, to the point where she was making such stupid decisions with Lucas that I decided that I probably won’t be reading the next book in this series.

I am sure, though, that there will be many who like this book a lot more than I did. I do see the potential in it; the characters just aren’t where I want them to be.

I give Icons 3/5 stars.

One thought on “Icons by Margaret Stohl

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

