5 stars · Fantasy · fiction · romance · series · young adult

Scarlet by Marissa Meyer

Scarlet

Lunar Chronicles #2
Book 1: Cinder

author : marissa meyer

pages : [hardcover] 452

memorable quote She did not know that the wolf was a wicked sort of animal, and she was not afraid of him.

favorite characters : wolf & scarlet

summary:

The fates of Cinder and Scarlet collide as a Lunar threat spreads across the Earth…

Cinder, the cyborg mechanic, returns in the second thrilling installment of the bestselling Lunar Chronicles. She’s trying to break out of prison—even though if she succeeds, she’ll be the Commonwealth’s most wanted fugitive.

Halfway around the world, Scarlet Benoit’s grandmother is missing. It turns out there are many things Scarlet doesn’t know about her grandmother or the grave danger she has lived in her whole life. When Scarlet encounters Wolf, a street fighter who may have information as to her grandmother’s whereabouts, she is loath to trust this stranger, but is inexplicably drawn to him, and he to her. As Scarlet and Wolf unravel one mystery, they encounter another when they meet Cinder. Now, all of them must stay one step ahead of the vicious Lunar Queen Levana, who will do anything for the handsome Prince Kai to become her husband, her king, her prisoner.

review :

Oh. My. Goodness. I could NOT wait to read this book after I read Cinder. I took such a long time getting my hands on the first book that I didn’t delay in running off to get the sequel as soon as I was finished. Now, I’m not sure if that’s a good thing or not because I can’t quite read Cress, book three, yet. Not until 2014. 2014. 

This book introduces another set of main characters, the two most exciting to me being Scarlet and Wolf. Again this sci-fi take on a fairy tale surprised me. Wolf . . oh! He gave me all of the lovely, fluttery, agonizing emotions that make me wish his character was real so I could date him. He’s just so adorable, even though he’s also lethal and mysterious and did I mention lethal? Prince Kai never gave me so many feels in Cinder but I can forgive him because Wolf more than makes up for that!

But even before Wolf was fully introduced to the story I was in love because there was another kick-ass heroine to love. Scarlet isn’t going to let anything stand in the way of her rescuing her grandmother even when she realizes that investigating this further could get herself killed and doesn’t even guarantee her grandmother’s freedom. It’s really awesome how she’s been through so much and is such a great girl. Plus she never loses her signature red hoodie!

Cinder’s story picks up just where it left off in book one and I’m so, so happy to see how tough and awesome she is. Not that she wasn’t before but it’s so easy to see how she’s growing and changing because of all of these events and revelations. Even if she has to deal with an annoying partner in crime, who I thought was hilarious!

You really, really need to read this book and you won’t regret it. I promise! Stars, it’s great.

5/5 stars

If you loved this, you might also like Tyger Tyger or Sun and Moon, Ice and Snow

Check out the book trailer!

4 thoughts on “Scarlet by Marissa Meyer

  1. This book will feature Cinder and Rapunzel and will take place in the Sahara Desert.That’s it! That’s all you have for me! I’m frothing at the mouth and being melodramtic and complaining to every body and their mother and that’s all you have for me?!?! 2014, why for you be so far away?

    Like

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

