5 stars · fiction · young adult

A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness

A Monster Calls

Author : patrick ness

pages : [hardcover] 215

memorable quote You do not write your life with words…You write it with actions. What you think is not important. It is only important what you do.

favorite characters : conor & the monster

summary :

The monster showed up after midnight. As they do.

But it isn’t the monster Conor’s been expecting. He’s been expecting the one from his nightmare, the one he’s had nearly every night since his mother started her treatments, the one with the darkness and the wind and the screaming…

This monster is something different, though. Something ancient, something wild. And it wants the most dangerous thing of all from Conor.

It wants the truth.

review :

I love Patrick Ness’ writing style so much! I read the Chaos Walking trilogy a while ago and that was and still is one of my all-time favorite things to read, both because of the great characters and the way the author has with words. He definitely holds onto that skill in A Monster Calls and uses it to draw the reader in from the first page.

First of all I loved the beautiful way that the book was set up. There are illustrations scattered throughout the book, all dark and dreary and depicting the monster that comes to visit Conor. Sometimes they frame the text and they really drew me into his story so that I could see what he was while he was speaking about it. Conor is mostly just the average kid though Ness makes even that seem special. Everything about this book is so realistic which is part of how horrifying it truly is. All of this realism is faced with the monster and the reader is guessing along with Conor as to whether or not the monster is really there or is just in his imagination.

A Monster Calls deals with very tough issues in a beautiful and powerful way. I didn’t know much about this book before I picked it up, only that I’d heard great things about it and already had a love for Ness’ work. What I didn’t expect was to become so emotionally connected with these characters that I felt like I was going through this horrible time alongside Conor. I really have to applaud the author for the way he conveyed this story without making it overdone or feel false. By the time the monster was demanding for Conor to tell his story of the truth the book brought me to tears.

I really recommend this book to everyone looking for a quick and wonderful read you will never forget.

book trailer :

If you like this book, you might also like Deadline or The Knife of Never Letting Go

2 thoughts on “A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

