2 stars · fiction · romance · young adult

Some Quiet Place by Kelsey Sutton

Some Quiet Place

author : kelsey sutton

pages : [paperback] 350

memorable quote : It’s the way humanity is; give them what they want, and it turns out it’s not what they wanted after all.

favorite character : fear

summary :

I can’t weep. I can’t fear. I’ve grown talented at pretending.

Elizabeth Caldwell doesn’t feel emotions . . . she sees them. Longing, Shame, and Courage materialize around her classmates. Fury and Resentment appear in her dysfunctional home. They’ve all given up on Elizabeth because she doesn’t succumb to their touch. All, that is, save one—Fear. He’s intrigued by her, as desperate to understand the accident that changed Elizabeth’s life as she is herself.

Elizabeth and Fear both sense that the key to her past is hidden in the dream paintings she hides in the family barn. But a shadowy menace has begun to stalk her, and try as she might, Elizabeth can barely avoid the brutality of her life long enough to uncover the truth about herself. When it matters most, will she be able to rely on Fear to save her?

review :

I was really excited to get to read this book! I was able to get a copy through Netgalley and started it immediately because I heard really good things about it. Plus it’s written from the perspective of the main character who’s unable to feel any emotion. It started out great; I loved being introduced to all of the different Emotions and Elements. It added a cool feel to the tale that I hadn’t really expected.

But somewhere near the middle of the book I began to enjoy it a lot less. Elizabeth would claim not to be able to feel anything still and then there would be scenes where it was kind of obvious that she felt something or else she wouldn’t have even done anything. And then I’d think that that meant she was finally breaking through when a few pages later she wouldn’t even notice any change and would continue to insist that she felt knowing. It was a little frustrating.

That being said, I spent most of the book being incredibly confused because it was all building up to the last section except with the way that it was written I didn’t really enjoy that anticipation and felt no burdening mystery. Instead I was just impatient and felt as though this book was something that I just needed to get over with and I really hated that. I think maybe a different approach with this concept would have made me enjoy it all a little more but this book as it is just didn’t do it for me. While I liked some of the supporting characters, I really felt nothing at all for Elizabeth and didn’t have that emotional connection toward the story.

There were so many little characters that were introduced throughout that could have been used to clarify the purpose of all of these Emotions and Elements that were introduced at random and in a confusing manner but that opportunity was never really taken. I do think that maybe other people will enjoy this book better than I will but I’m glad that this is a stand alone novel.

2/5 stars

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

