5 stars · Fantasy · fiction · romance · series · young adult

Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo

 

Shadow and Bone

The Grisha #1

author : leigh bardugo

pages : [hardcover] 356

memorable quote I hate hiding how much the stupid things he did hurt me, but I hated the idea of him finding out even more.

favorite characters : mal & alina

summary :

The Shadow Fold, a swathe of impenetrable darkness, crawling with monsters that feast on human flesh, is slowly destroying the once-great nation of Ravka.

Alina, a pale, lonely orphan, discovers a unique power that thrusts her into the lavish world of the kingdom’s magical elite—the Grisha. Could she be the key to unravelling the dark fabric of the Shadow Fold and setting Ravka free?

The Darkling, a creature of seductive charm and terrifying power, leader of the Grisha. If Alina is to fulfill her destiny, she must discover how to unlock her gift and face up to her dangerous attraction to him.

But what of Mal, Alina’s childhood best friend? As Alina contemplates her dazzling new future, why can’t she ever quite forget him?

Glorious. Epic. Irresistible. Romance.

review :

This book starts out quick and ends strong! It was so wonderful that the day after I finished I had to go and start the next book! Shadow and Bone is a fast-paced adventure rolled into a wonderfully built world filled with fantastic, complicated characters. Full of flaws. I love it when characters, even the good guys, aren’t perfect, because it makes them seem so much more realistic and relatable!

I do have to admit that there were a few plot twists that I anticipated in the book as well as a few I never saw coming. The bigger ones were the unexpected ones, thankfully, because I really hate it when I can see most of what’s coming when it’s obvious that the reader isn’t intended to. Surprises are my favorite parts in books most of the time and in something as wonderfully written and well-crafted as this one everything blended together very well.

The characters! Mal had to be my favorite, even though he was the most normal one out of all of them. Maybe that was why. Alina was insensible at some points in the book but I really liked Mal even when his flaws were coming into play. It didn’t hurt that he’s an attractive soldier, the best tracker in the entire country, Alina’s childhood friend, the guy who would do anything for her . . Yeah, he was definitely my favorite. Alina was strong, too, and loyal, though at some times I really disliked her decisions. While she made up for it in the end, I know that I’ll like her character a lot more through the rest of this trilogy (series?) because of the change she’s made in this first book.

Lately many of the fantastical stories I’ve been reading have been good but not great and might have fallen flat. This series not only has great characters, it has a fantastic setting and world to go along with it! It’s one of those books that has a map of the world in the first few pages! I twas so easy to immerse myself in this place and society.

Go read Shadow and Bone as soon as you can! I hope you’ll love it as much as I do.

5/5 stars

If you like this, you might also like Daughter of Smoke and Bone or Poison Study

11 thoughts on “Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo

  1. I’m a few chapters away from finishing this book and i really love it! ok time to get back to read..

    p.s.
    although i havent finished reading this, i’m already thinking of giving it a 5/5 stars

    Like

      1. The ending made me cry like a baby! i knew Mal wouldn’t get eaten by the vulcra but still i kept thinking what if and then i started crying because i don’t want Mal to die. My review of Shadow and Bone is coming up and I have a feeling all I’ll ever write is about Mal and crying haha.
        I didn’t read the blurb before reading the book so I didn’t have any idea what the story is about. (sometimes I don’t read the synopsis of a book because I want to be surprised) I “fell” for the Darkling for a moment there but then he turned out to be the bad guy. 😦 note to self: don’t ever trust a guy who has the word “dark” in his name

        Like

        1. I know! I was afraid that something really would happen to him just because there was a whole love triangle thing going on but then I tried to make myself feel better by thinking she’d never end up with the bad guy. xD Sometimes I like to surprise myself by not reading the synopsis, too! I just started reading ‘The Coldest Girl in Coldtown’ by Holly Black and did that, so I have no idea what might happen!

          Like

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

