3 stars · fiction

The Enchanted Life of Adam Hope by Rhonda Riley

the enchanted life of adam hope

author : rhonda riley

pages : [paperback] 421

favorite character : adam

summary :

The Enchanted Life of Adam Hope is an unconventional and passionately romantic love story that is as breathtaking and wondrous as The Time Traveler’s Wife and The Story of Edgar Sawtelle.

During WWII, teenager Evelyn Roe is sent to manage the family farm in rural North Carolina, where she finds what she takes to be a badly burned soldier on their property. She rescues him, and it quickly becomes clear he is not a man…and not one of us. The rescued body recovers at an unnatural speed, and just as fast, Evelyn and Adam fall deeply in love. In The Enchanted Life of Adam Hope, Rhonda Riley reveals the exhilarating, terrifying mystery inherent in all relationships: No matter how deeply we love someone, and no matter how much we will sacrifice for them, we can only know them so well…

review :

I really didn’t know what to expect from this book but I’ve been trying to read more adult fiction so I thought that this would be a good one to pick up. I read a few good reviews about it and the summary really intrigued me so I was quick to get it at my library. Unfortunately, the summary up there isn’t the same as the one in the book, or at least the version I read. That summary was much longer and basically outlined the entire book so that there was nothing surprising for me during my entire read, which frustrated me to no end. My advice to you? Read the summary up there, but not the one in the book! I don’t know if I might have enjoyed it more if I hadn’t already known every plot point that was going to be made.

I was also really expecting this unnatural thing with Adam to be more prevalent through the book. I wanted Evelyn to try and figure out where he’d come from and why he could do certain things. Actually, there weren’t so many things that made him immediately, noticeably different from humans, which I suppose was frustrating in itself to me. If Evelyn is so constantly freaking out about his differences and what they might mean and all, I wanted some danger that he might expose himself at any moment in some fantastic kind of way.

What I did like about the book, though, was the family dynamic in this as well as the writing style. While this book is very slow paced it is also well written, for which I was very grateful. I don’t think that this was exactly the book for me, though I’m glad that I stepped out of my normal comfort zone to try it, and I’ll definitely try something else by this author in the future to see if it was just this plot that didn’t hook me.

2.5/5 stars

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

