5 stars · Fantasy · romance · series · young adult

Siege and Storm by Leigh Bardugo

Siege and Storm

The Grisha #2
Book 1: Shadow and Bone

author : leigh bardugo

pages : [hardcover] 435

memorable quote The less you say, the more weight your words will carry.

favorite characters : mal & alina

summary :

Darkness never dies.

Hunted across the True Sea, haunted by the lives she took on the Fold, Alina must try to make a life with Mal in an unfamiliar land. She finds starting new is not easy while keeping her identity as the Sun Summoner a secret. She can’t outrun her past or her destiny for long.

The Darkling has emerged from the Shadow Fold with a terrifying new power and a dangerous plan that will test the very boundaries of the natural world. With the help of a notorious privateer, Alina returns to the country she abandoned, determined to fight the forces gathering against Ravka. But as her power grows, Alina slips deeper into the Darkling’s game of forbidden magic, and farther away from Mal. Somehow, she will have to choose between her country, her power, and the love she always thought would guide her–or risk losing everything to the oncoming storm.

review :

As soon as I finished reading the first book in this series I picked up this sequel. Even though the first book didn’t really end on a cliffhanger it was still addictive enough to make me want more, immediately! Even though there isn’t even a date set for when the third book in this trilogy will come out (because I only know it’ll be sometime far away in 2014) I’ll need to keep myself satisfied by rereading these books and keeping myself in the world of the Grisha.

While I think that I liked the first book more than this one, don’t fear the sequel slump when it comes to Siege and Storm. Actually, I think that I liked the main character, Alina, a lot more in this book than I did in the first one. She’s really come a long way and is learning to come into her own, though she has some internal demons to battle now as well as the seemingly endless amount of people who’d really like to see her dead. Which isn’t good. She also makes a few decisions that made me want to hit my head against the wall, like keeping secrets that she should obviously be telling people because she’s only hurting herself by keeping them . . So it’s obvious that she still has a little room left to improve.

I loved the new characters introduced in this book! Especially Sturmhond. I can’t really decide if I personally would like him or Mal more. Maybe, with the way that Mal was acting in the latter half of this book, I’d prefer to stick with the pirate.

While there isn’t as much exciting world building in this book, there are plenty of plot twists and lots of action scenes to keep you on your feet. There wasn’t as much of an opportunity for that in the last book, because of mentioned world building, so I’m glad that the pace of the book picked up so that it wouldn’t lag anywhere!

I’d recommend this book to just about everyone. I loved it just as much as the first and can’t wait to read more!

5/5 stars

If you like this, you might also like Daughter of Smoke and Bone or Poison Study

4 thoughts on “Siege and Storm by Leigh Bardugo

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

