5 stars · fiction · romance · science fiction · series · young adult

The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey

The 5th Wave

author : rick yancey

pages : [hardcover] 457

memorable quote : Some things you can never leave behind. They don’t belong to the past. They belong to you.

favorite characters : sammy & cassie

summary :

The Passage meets Ender’s Game in an epic new series from award-winning author Rick Yancey.

After the 1st wave, only darkness remains. After the 2nd, only the lucky escape. And after the 3rd, only the unlucky survive. After the 4th wave, only one rule applies: trust no one.

Now, it’s the dawn of the 5th wave, and on a lonely stretch of highway, Cassie runs from Them. The beings who only look human, who roam the countryside killing anyone they see. Who have scattered Earth’s last survivors. To stay alone is to stay alive, Cassie believes, until she meets Evan Walker. Beguiling and mysterious, Evan Walker may be Cassie’s only hope for rescuing her brother—or even saving herself. But Cassie must choose: between trust and despair, between defiance and surrender, between life and death. To give up or to get up.

review :

I absolutely loved this book to pieces! First of all I haven’t read many alien invasion novels. I recently read Icons by Margaret Stohl and it wasn’t all I was expecting or wanting from that kind of novel. The Fifth Wave, as it turns out, might just be the book that hooks me into reading more of this stuff. Basically, it’s everything I could have wanted from a book like this. Lots of action and adventure, a kick-ass heroine as well as an equally awesome hero, a great family dynamic, romance that isn’t at the forefront of everything. And conspiracy! I love it when I’m reading a book where you can’t trust anything-and, in The Fifth Wave, because the aliens look exactly like humans, nobody can trust anyone and it’s just complete chaos. And it’s awesome.

There are multiple narrators in this book and I think I really enjoyed reading all of them, which isn’t something that usually happens for me in that sort of setup. Usually I find myself constantly thinking of the other character instead but here it worked wonders. It helped with the world-building, the suspense, character development. And plot twists. Which leaves me to believe that Rick Yancey can do just about everything.

Being the uber paranoid person that I am, yes, I guessed one of the major plot points early on . . But, really, when you can’t trust anything, I saw it coming. Kind of. I thought that I knew what was happening, but what made it worse was that I didn’t know what could possibly happen after that or what the author would do with it. Even if I did figure out what was going on I wouldn’t call this book predictable at all. It’s written in such a way that’ll have you second-guessing yourself. And then, when you think that you’ve been proven right, you have to think that maybe it’s just another trick . . .

The only thing that I dislike about this book is how long I’m going to have to wait until I can get my hands on the second one. But until then, I’ll just keep on reading this. Over and over and over.

I’d recommend this to people who enjoy alien books as well as those who are just starting to get into them like I am. It’s not overly done so I think that anyone will love this book!

5/5 stars

If you love this, you might also like Quaranteen or First Day on Earth

5 thoughts on “The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey

  1. I don’t read very many alien books either, but I enjoyed this! I think part of its appeal for me as a non-alien fan was its strong focus on humanity. It’s very much about what makes us human, how humans survive, etc. instead of being about gawking at as much alien technology as possible.

    I also enjoyed that so many of the characters were unreliable. Like you, I thought I had things figured out, but it was so hard to be certain!

    Like

    1. That’s true! Maybe that’s why I liked it so much when I usually don’t go for books like this! And not being able to predict everything! 😀

      Like

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

