2 stars · fiction · horror · young adult

Deck Z by Chris Pauls

Deck Z

author : chris pauls

pages : [paperback] 222

summary :

Imagine being trapped aboard the doomed Titanic on an icy Atlantic. . . with the walking dead. This fast-paced thriller reimagines the historical events of the fateful Titanic voyage through the lens of zombie mayhem. Captain Edward Smith and his inner circle desperately try to contain a weaponized zombie virus smuggled on board with the 2,200 passengers sailing to New York. Faced with an exploding population of lumbering, flesh-hungry undead, Smith’s team is forced into bloody hand-to-hand combat down the narrow halls of the huge steamer. In its few short days at sea, the majestic Titanic turns into a Victorian bloodbath, steaming at top speed toward a cold, blue iceberg. A creepy, tense page-turner, Deck Z will thrill zombie fans and Titanic buffs alike.

review :

I have to admit that I didn’t have the highest expectations for this book. I was just looking for something a little out of the ordinary and less serious to read during the summer. Unfortunately even those expectations weren’t met in this book. I love reading about the Titanic, I love reading about zombies, and I figured combining the two would at least make a basically decent and enjoyable novel. Hopefully I won’t be making that mistake again.

I will say that it was interesting reading the beginning of the book, set in Germany before the launch of the Titanic. It involves the whole explanation of why zombies and why the Titanic, though I think some of the suspense lost its steam before the ship even sailed away. This was mostly due to the fact that the characters felt very flat and faraway, making me unable to connect with them.

There were a few good, interesting scenes in the book but I think that they could have benefitted from a better writing style. I didn’t really like the way that the book was written, making it very dry when there were great action scenes going on. The characters were very clever in how they kept stopping the zombies and attempting to contain the outbreak. I like how while they were dealing with that problem they were also needing to worry about sinking, as the part where the ill-fated ship hits the iceberg is still included in this adaptation.

I wouldn’t really recommend this book unless you need something quick to read.

2/5 stars

You might want to read Warm Bodies or This is Not a Test instead.

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

