5 stars · dystopia · fiction · young adult

Shards and Ashes edited by Melissa Marr and Kelley Armstrong

Shards and Ashes

edited by : melissa marr & kelley armstrong

contributing authors : veronica roth, carrie ryan, beth revis, nancy holder, kami garcia, margaret stohl, & rachel caine

pages : [paperback] 384

summary :

Gripping original stories of dystopian worlds from nine New York Times bestselling authors, edited by Melissa Marr and Kelley Armstrong.

The world is gone, destroyed by human, ecological, or supernatural causes. Survivors dodge chemical warfare and cruel gods; they travel the reaches of space and inhabit underground caverns. Their enemies are disease, corrupt corporations, and one another; their resources are few, and their courage is tested.

Powerful original dystopian tales from nine bestselling authors offer bleak insight, prophetic visions, and precious glimmers of light among the shards and ashes of a ruined world.

review :

I was really looking to read a good story collection after the last one I read ended up falling flat for me. Luckily I love dystopian books and this anthology is all about the dystopian tales. I really liked most of the stories and can’t think of one that I didn’t enjoy at least some part of. Overall I really loved this collection and it’s one that I’d definitely read all over again!

There are some big names in YA dystopia and other YA genres included in this assortment. While I think you should definitely pick this up if you see one of your favorite authors featured, don’t be afraid to try out someone new. And, if you’re a fan of Beth Revis, her book in the anthology is one that relates to her book series, Across the Universe. I’ve only read the first one of that but this story is more of a prequel than anything so it doesn’t have any spoilers for you if you haven’t read anything. Plus it stands well enough on its own so if you aren’t interested in reading more, you can just be satisfied with the ending there.

Most of the stories only ended with gleams of hope for the future . . or the exact opposite. While I know that’s the common way to have dystopian literature end, one of these times I’d like a little flash to the future just so that I can see the characters be happy for once!

All of the societies presented here were just miserable and horrible and each was wrong in such different ways. I liked that each story stood out from the others. If one element was similar than another would stand apart significantly. This helped to keep them from running together, which I’d been afraid of.

I highly recommend this collection. It’s one of the best I’ve read and you won’t want to put it down!

5/5 stars

One thought on “Shards and Ashes edited by Melissa Marr and Kelley Armstrong

  1. These stories were okay…but I was starting to lose interest when I got to “Faint Heart” by Sarah Rees Brennan. I don’t think I’ve read anything by this author before, but I liked this story so much that I forgot I was reading an anthology and was horrified when I realized it was over so quickly.I need to remember to look up her books!

    Like

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

