2 stars · horror

Christine by Stephen King

Christine

author : stephen king

pages : [paperback] 411

favorite characters : dennis & leigh

memorable quote I think part of being a parent is trying to kill your kids.

summary :

Evil is alive in Libertyville. It inhabits a custom-painted red and white 1958 Plymouth Fury and the teenage boy, Arnold Cunningham, who buys it from the strange Roland LeBay.

Helped by Arnold’s girlfriend Leigh Cabot, Dennis Guilder embarks to find out the real truth behind Christine and finds more than he bargained for: from murder, to suicide, and a strange feeling that surrounds Christine — she gets even with anyone that crosses her! Can Dennis save Arnold from the evil that is Christine?

review :

Every so often I pick up a Stephen King book and it’s usually either a hit or a miss for me. I love the ideas and the concepts but sometimes it either takes too long of a buildup to get to the horror aspects of the book or everything is greatly paced. Unfortunately for me, this book was more like the former.

Christine was very well-written with interesting characters but throughout most of the pages nothing much was happening. Sure, sometimes this built up a little interest, but at times it just made me want to skip through and see what exciting thing would happen next. A few times I did this and realized that I wasn’t missing anything important by not reading a few pages here and there. While I was usually able to stop myself from giving into the temptation to do so, it was frustrating.

I think that this book would have been much better if it was a little shorter and less drawn out. I really did like the writing here so I know without a doubt that Stephen King is very talented and I know that I’ll end up reading more in the future. I just am not sure of how many I’ll enjoy and what will end up disappointing like this one.

2/5 stars

If you like this book, you might also like Carrie or The Green Mile.

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

