3 stars · fiction · romance · young adult

Starcrossed by Josephine Angelini

Starcrossed

author : josephine angelini

pages : [hardcover] 487

memorable quote : You’ve got the killer instincts of a houseplant.

favorite characters : claire & jason

summary :

How do you defy destiny?

Helen Hamilton has spent her entire sixteen years trying to hide how different she is—no easy task on an island as small and sheltered as Nantucket. And it’s getting harder. Nightmares of a desperate desert journey have Helen waking parched, only to find her sheets damaged by dirt and dust. At school she’s haunted by hallucinations of three women weeping tears of blood . . . and when Helen first crosses paths with Lucas Delos, she has no way of knowing they’re destined to play the leading roles in a tragedy the Fates insist on repeating throughout history.

As Helen unlocks the secrets of her ancestry, she realizes that some myths are more than just legend. But even demigod powers might not be enough to defy the forces that are both drawing her and Lucas together—and trying to tear them apart.

review :

This book had a really interesting premise! I’ve been really into fairy tale retelling or tales dealing with mythology lately and this was a book that caught my eye a while ago. I finally had the chance to pick it up! Unlike other books I’ve read, this one alludes to the story of Helen of Troy. Our main character, appropriately named Helen, knew she was always different but never knew just how different until the Delos family came into town. That was where some of the originality of the tale went downhill. There were so many great things that could have happened from this idea-feuding families, starcrossed lovers, the works-and I feel like it was all dumbed down to be the teen novel every author seems to think will become a big hit now.

That said, my disappointment didn’t make me completely hate the book. I’m still really invested in the series and now I want to see how everything pans out. I’m hoping that Helen will gain a little more courage and a lot more sense. I’m hoping everyone will stop creeping outside her window. Yes, this is one of those books where boys watching girls while they sleep is glorified instead of made creepy under the pretense of keeping them safe. It kind of felt like this premise was dulled down because everything that’s considered a hit in the YA book industry right now was written into the plot.

There were also some things in this book that didn’t make sense to me, like the fact that nobody noticed people (I won’t say who) flying around the island. At night, okay, I’ll give them that, but they did it in broad daylight! Taking off and landing at houses! Do they not understand how high up people can see these people coming down from the sky and then get a little curious?

Overall, there were little things about this book that I liked. The minor characters did a lot more for me than the major ones. I really liked the ending and some of the fight scenes. And I’m definitely going to read the second book, just to see what happens and see if it all gets better.

3/5 stars

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

