Uncategorized

The Lost Sun by Tessa Gratton

 

The Lost Sun

The United States of Asgard Book I

author : tessa gratton

pages : [hardcover] 368

memorable quote : There are some consequences so unacceptable we have to fight against them every day.

favorite characters : soren & astrid

summary :

Fans of Neil Gaiman’s American Gods and Holly Black’s The Curse Workers will embrace this richly drawn, Norse-mythology-infused alternate world: the United States of Asgard.

Seventeen-year-old Soren Bearskin is trying to escape the past. His father, a famed warrior, lost himself to the battle-frenzy and killed thirteen innocent people. Soren cannot deny that berserking is in his blood–the fevers, insomnia, and occasional feelings of uncontrollable rage haunt him. So he tries to remain calm and detached from everyone at Sanctus Sigurd’s Academy. But that’s hard to do when a popular, beautiful girl like Astrid Glyn tells Soren she dreams of him. That’s not all Astrid dreams of–the daughter of a renowned prophetess, Astrid is coming into her own inherited abilities.

When Baldur, son of Odin and one of the most popular gods in the country, goes missing, Astrid sees where he is and convinces Soren to join her on a road trip that will take them to find not only a lost god, but also who they are beyond the legacy of their parents and everything they’ve been told they have to be

review :

 I’m completely loving this resurgence in mythology books! Especially Norse mythology because I don’t know too much about it and am eager to learn. The Lost Sun most immediately talks about Baldur and I loved hearing how he and all of the other gods interact with each other and the human world in this modern setting. The United States of Asgard is obviously the U. S. only with Norse mythology thrown everywhere. Whenever Soren travels into different states, I liked the little parody of all of the names being slightly changes because of all of the Norse things thrown in.

I liked the plot and it wasn’t until almost the end of the book that I knew for certain that this book could be enjoyed by anyone of any age. The last half of the book really picked up in the plot and I liked where it was going. The only thing that kept me from enjoying this completely was probably the characters and character development. I don’t think that I really ever related to any of the characters. They all felt distant from me for one reason or another. Not because of the berserking or magic, either, because I’ve read more fantastical books before with more relatable characters. Because I loved this book so much, I’m hoping that the next one will be a lot better and impress me so much more.

I liked how I couldn’t predict everything that was happening in this book. When I thought things would drag out they were solved quickly and more surprises and problems were in store. I loved how the plot twisted and turned and I really can’t wait until book two comes out when I can see what’s happening! There isn’t any cliff hanger here and I really feel like anything will be possible in the next book.

I’d recommend this book to anyone who enjoys reading adventous tales that involve myths, magic, and lots of great plot twists. This is a book that’s easy to get into for people of all ages, so even if it isn’t your typical book that you read, you should give it a try!

4/5 stars

If you love this book, you might also like Loki’s Wolves.

One thought on “The Lost Sun by Tessa Gratton

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

