Uncategorized

How to Find Time to Read During the School Year

Hey guys! I don’t know about all of you but I started school a few weeks ago and I’ve only finished one book in that time. For me, that’s not saying a lot, so I’ve been trying to get creative in making sure that I’m taking the time to get my literary fix. I don’t want to take time and feel guilty, thinking I should be studying or socializing instead. I think that this is a problem with most people when school comes around again, especially if they’re in college or university. After a summer of having all the time in the world to read, I’ve come up with a few ideas of how to get yourself some extra reading time during the day.

1. Get to class early.
Alright, you might not want to or have the time but I like to get to my classes with time to spare so I won’t need to rush myself. Plus, that means I get to pick out the best seat in the classroom for myself and won’t need to worry about sitting right next to the professor. It’ll give you something great to think about if class begins while you’re at a good part. Sure, you’ll want to read more, but you can think about what happens next if your professor drones on about nothing important.

2. Go outside.

Fresh air, no internet. No distractions if you only bring that book with you. Maybe go out with a friend and have reading time together!

Yes, you probably should . . for a little while. You’ll appreciate it more when you get it back!

3. Right before you go to sleep.

Especially if you’ve been doing homework, watching TV, or using the computer. Honestly, it helps you go to sleep faster, even if you choose to read one chapter only or take ten minutes to get a few pages in. It’ll calm you down (usually-some fight scenes are intense!), give you something to ponder instead of exactly how many hours of sleep you’ll have if you go to bed right then,

4. In the morning before classes start.

This is also one that might make you wake up a little earlier but I think it works out well for me! I can read while I eat breakfast and have a few calm moments to myself before I start the day. No computer, homework finished, and a good book to read. And if you take all of this time to read, chances are you’ll get hooked and start finding excuses to read it all the time!

5. If you’re going to read during the school year, you have to be stubborn.

I think that’s about all of it, really. If you aren’t passionate about reading you won’t want to pick up a book for fun after reading textbooks, articles, and classic books for class. I’m an English major so, yes, I already spend most of my time reading and writing. But I still like to take my free time and make sure that I’m having fun with it. For me, that means books I’ve been looking forward to for ages!

Do you have other things you like to do during the year to get in the things you love doing? Tell me in the comments below!

One thought on “How to Find Time to Read During the School Year

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

