5 stars · fiction

Stained by Cheryl Rainfield

Stained

author : cheryl rainfield [also wrote scars]

pages : [hardcover] 304

favorite character : sarah

summary :

n this heart-wrenching and suspenseful teen thriller, sixteen-year-old Sarah Meadows longs for “normal.” Born with a port-wine stain covering half her face, all her life she’s been plagued by stares, giggles, bullying, and disgust. But when she’s abducted on the way home from school, Sarah is forced to uncover the courage she never knew she had, become a hero rather than a victim, and learn to look beyond her face to find the beauty and strength she has inside. It’s that—or succumb to a killer

review :

I really don’t even know where to start with this review because I read this book so quickly and loved it so much that when that happens I usually only spend my review fangirling over what I just read. That usually doesn’t make for the most coherent review so I’ll try to contain myself!

First of all, let’s talk characters. Sarah is everything you could want in a female protagonist. She has flaws. And she isn’t one of those characters who’re shown as quirky  in a bad representation of actual people and are waiting for other people to stand around and help them. No, Sarah can certainly handle herself, even if she truly is the only one holding herself back. Like most characters she can’t seem to step back and think of herself without also considering how other people judge her because of the port-wine stain on her face. Even if her parents constantly support her and remind her of how beautiful she is.

I loved the alternating viewpoints between Sarah and Nick. Because of Nick we get to see what’s happening in the outside world after her abduction but we also get a better feel of him as a character than we would if everything was left to only Sarah’s point of view. He’s a great friend and I’d definitely like to have him as my friend, especially if he’s up for lending me some of his comics!

Even if you think that you know what to expect in this book, everything will turn itself over and you’ll find yourself wondering what might happen next. There are so many twists in this book, little things that’ll have you sitting on the edge of your seat and rooting for Sarah all the way through to the end!

Although this book does contain some material that might make some readers uncomfortable (kidnapping, rape, psychological torment) this is a very powerful read and I think that it’s important for many people to read this. From where I am in life right now, I really needed an empowering book like this. I think there are other people out there who’ll benefit from Sarah’s bravery just like I did. Pick this book up as soon as you can!

5/5 stars

If you like this book you might also like Held or Pretty Girl-13.

One thought on “Stained by Cheryl Rainfield

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

