life posts

Thursday Thoughts: NaNoWriMo this year!

Hey everybody! I’m thinking of starting up something new on the blog and posting every Thursday to talk about what’s been on my mind, book related or not. This week is more writing related than book talk because I’ve decided to take on the challenge in National Novel Writing Month and complete 50,000 words of my novel. It’s an enormous task, especially with college classes and activities to juggle, but I’m willing to set aside my social life for a while to come up with this enormous task.

Sure, it’s a lot. In fact, for the past two years, I’ve planned on doing this. I’ve come up with an idea, sat down to write, and maybe a week in I’ll decide that I don’t have enough time for this. There’s homework to do or essays to write or people to hang out with. Really, life often gets in the way of writing. But now I’m ready to commit. It’s so easy during November to say that I’ll skip then and write during winter break or maybe over the summer and then I find myself using the same excuses during those months as I did then! Now I’m ready to put my foot down and see what happens if I really push myself.

While that means I might have less coming out with book reviews (even though some books I’ve been waiting for ages to release are coming out in November!) now I know that I need to make the writing process seem like it’ll be more rewarding for me in the future, and for my confidence as a writer, than a chore to accomplish every day. I think that was my problem in the past years, seeing it as more homework on top of everything else I needed to do in the day, and that really undermined all of the things that I was doing to better myself.

To give you a little hint about what I’ll be writing on, my main character is a witch! Other characters will be other creatures and there’ll be a few humans involved. If anyone’s interested, I can give little updates as November goes on. Otherwise  I’ll just keep plotting out through the next few weeks and trying to keep myself motivated and sane.

Is anyone else trying to get through 50,000 words in one month? I’d love to talk to you about it! Maybe we can encourage each other as we get through all of our goals! I’m really excited for this year and would love to hear any advice from newcomers to the challenge or people who have tried or succeeded before!

If you’re interested in joining, check out the official website: NaNoWriMo.org

2 thoughts on “Thursday Thoughts: NaNoWriMo this year!

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

