3 stars · fiction · young adult

Speechless by Hannah Harrington

Speechless

author : hannah harrington

pages : [paperback] 288

memorable quote : Hate is… It’s too easy. Love. Love takes courage.

favorite characters :asha & sam

summary :

Everyone knows that Chelsea Knot can’t keep a secret

Until now. Because the last secret she shared turned her into a social outcast—and nearly got someone killed.

Now Chelsea has taken a vow of silence—to learn to keep her mouth shut, and to stop hurting anyone else. And if she thinks keeping secrets is hard, not speaking up when she’s ignored, ridiculed and even attacked is worse.

But there’s strength in silence, and in the new friends who are, shockingly, coming her way—people she never noticed before; a boy she might even fall for. If only her new friends can forgive what she’s done. If only she can forgive herself

review :

This book wasn’t what I expected. At some points it was slow and frustrating but, overall, I think that I came out of it feeling better for what I’d read about. It was interesting and took a different take on all of the difference characters throughout the novel.

Chelsea used to be one of the popular girls, the mean girls, until she made a very good decision that made all of her so-called friends hate her and now she’s ostracized at school. At first I was like everyone else, thinking that her vow of silence was a selfish and stupid decision. But the more I saw characters pushing her to stop, the more I could see how her strength was growing and taking her down a path she might never have started otherwise. Surprisingly, she was becoming a better person.

Several times in her reflections on her past life, I realized that Chelsea is one of those people I and I’m sure most other people detest. She changed herself completely to get in good with the popular girls and doesn’t even realize how much of an affect that’s had on her until she does something that ends her relationship with all of those terrible people. While I like knowing that people can change and there’s always a reason why someone might be acting cruel or rude, some parts of the book didn’t sit as well with me because I couldn’t relate to the people portrayed.

I think that this book has a good message and would be enjoyed by many people but I also feel like it was lacking somewhat to me. The plotline was very predictable so I had the feeling that I could skip a lot and still know what was going to happen. There were no real plot twists, which I tend to look for in contemporary literature. Maybe it was because Chelsea was having one-sided conversations with everyone but with most of the characters I felt a kind of disconnect.

This is a good, quick read, but isn’t one of my favorites.

3/5 stars

If you liked this book, you might also like Absent or One Moment

buy the book : amazon

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

