4 stars · Fantasy · fiction · young adult

Indelible by Dawn Metcalf

Indelible

author : dawn metcalf

pages : [paperback] 384

favorite character : ink

summary :

Some things are permanent.

Indelible.

And they cannot be changed back.

Joy Malone learns this the night she sees a stranger with all-black eyes across a crowded room—right before the mystery boy tries to cut out her eye. Instead, the wound accidentally marks her as property of Indelible Ink, and this dangerous mistake thrusts Joy into an incomprehensible world—a world of monsters at the window, glowing girls on the doorstep, and a life that will never be the same.

Now, Joy must pretend to be Ink’s chosen one—his helper, his love, his something for the foreseeable future…and failure to be convincing means a painful death for them both. Swept into a world of monsters, illusion, immortal honor and revenge, Joy discovers that sometimes, there are no mistakes.

Somewhere between reality and myth lies…

THE TWIXT

review :

I really loved the concept of this book! Fantastic creatures, invisible to most people, have always been a favorite of mine. Maybe because it’s fun to dream there are fantastical things out there that only certain people can see so that’s why most people’s lives are normal. Indelible has a nice little twist because there are two creatures Joy has most contact with-Ink and Inq-are unlike any others I’ve read about so I couldn’t stop myself from reading on and finding out more about them.

Unfortunately, as the main character and the reader’s point of view, Joy really disappointed me. She needed to find her own strength, yes, but I feel like half of the book had horrible things happening to her and other people saving her from them. While the ways in which this was happening were incredibly interesting at first, as time went on I started to wonder just how she was still alive . . .

But! I liked almost every other character and with the development I’ve seen in Joy, if I read the sequel I think I’ll like it a lot more. Although I can’t say I didn’t enjoy reading this book and I also can’t say why this would need a sequel. I honestly thought that it was a stand alone until I looked it up on Goodreads.

I know it’ll turn people off from the book because most people need a great main character to get them through, but with the plotline, creatures, great world building, and general intrigue I was able to generally enjoy this. I’d recommend this to anyone who enjoys interesting plots and well-defined and captivating secondary characters.

3.5/5 stars

If you like this book, you might also like Wicked Lovely or The Iron King.

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

