3 stars · fiction · series · young adult

Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare

Clockwork Angel

The Infernal Devices #1

author : Cassandra Clare

pages : [hardcover] 479

memorable quote: Only the very weak-minded refuse to be influenced by literature and poetry.

favorite characters : jem & tessa

summary:

Don’t miss The Mortal Instruments: City of Bones, soon to be a major motion picture in theaters August 2013.

In a time when Shadowhunters are barely winning the fight against the forces of darkness, one battle will change the course of history forever. Welcome to the Infernal Devices trilogy, a stunning and dangerous prequel to the New York Times bestselling Mortal Instruments series.

The year is 1878. Tessa Gray descends into London’s dark supernatural underworld in search of her missing brother. She soon discovers that her only allies are the demon-slaying Shadowhunters—including Will and Jem, the mysterious boys she is attracted to. Soon they find themselves up against the Pandemonium Club, a secret organization of vampires, demons, warlocks, and humans. Equipped with a magical army of unstoppable clockwork creatures, the Club is out to rule the British Empire, and only Tessa and her allies can stop them….

review:

I just needed to start this prequel trilogy because I’ve heard really good things about it and the Mortal Instruments series has always been very fast-paced and addictive for me, even if it isn’t my favorite series. There were some points of this book that I loved, some I liked, and some that just didn’t impress me at all.

First of all, the characters. While of course there’s a love triangle (because that’s all everyone seems to talk about regarding these books!) sometimes most of the people here seem like old-fashioned versions of the characters who are placed in the other series. While there are some unique aspects to them, too many of them had secrets that haven’t yet been revealed and I think that in subsequent books, as more is revealed about them, there’ll be more for me to appreciate about them. So I’m still allowing myself to get my hopes up!

The first half of this book was concentrated more on building a world that people have already been introduced to if they’ve read the main series and because the reader has no answers to the mysteries going on, it’s just a whirlwind of not very interesting or gripping confusion. Once things started to pick up toward the end I just couldn’t put the book down. I really hope that the next book, which I already have and is waiting for me to read, will pick up where this one left off and will give me the thrill and the answers that I was looking for from this first book!

For me, I think that you’ll feel the same about this series as you will about Cassandra Clare’s Mortal Instrument series if you’ve read those books before these prequels. I thought that the concepts in there were interesting and the execution left something to be desired; so far, The Infernal Devices is leaving me feeling lukewarm as well.

3.5/5 stars

If you like this, you might also like City of Bones or Tyger, Tyger.

2 thoughts on “Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

