5 stars · nonfiction

Ancient Civilizations Brought to You Today

 I’m very interested in history and the different civilizations that thrived long before I was born. I know I’m not the only one fascinated by the idea of these people and places, yearning to know more about what a day in the life of a person living in ancient Greece, The Middle Ages, the Viking Age, or ancient Egypt was like.

I personally was most interested in ancient Greece, partly because I’ve read so much about the mythology there that I wanted to know how it applied to these people and their lives. Unfortunately in most history classes I’ve taken, there hasn’t been much time to focus on other parts of the world, let alone their ancient civilizations. I was also very, very excited to read about vikings. Who doesn’t want to know what it’d be like to live as one of them? Sure, they seem kind of rough and tough (and probably very, very cold) but what made them that way?

Fortunately, the series of “Everyday Life” books by Sterling Publishing don’t simply skim over dates and facts. The great thing about having one book focused on something I’m completely interested in is that I know I’m going to get a thorough understanding of these people.

In Ancient Greece: Everyday Life in the Birthplace of Western Civilization, not only are their sections about their gods and heroes but there are portions that talk about what the people typically ate, how their educational system worked, how their criminal trials proceeded, what happened with weddings . . I could go on and on about all of the separate detailed sections that addressed different aspects of Greek life that I never even thought to ask about!

Viking Age: Everyday Life During the Extraordinary Era of the Norsemen is set up similarly but of course has a plethora of unique information for you to learn so you can surprise your friends with fun facts about Vikings. Of course I enjoyed reading about the different types of ships they had, one of the things these people were most known for, but I also liked reading about what clothing they wore, how they fought battles, how their names were constructed, and what medicine they used.

Both texts are split into several chapters that are further split into sections that pertain to the subject of the chapter. The reading is anything but dense; I could read these books on my own time, for my own enjoyment, and I loved every minute of it.

I highly recommend the “Everyday Life” books and hope that you’ll check out at least one of them! What’s your favorite ancient civilization to learn about?

One thought on “Ancient Civilizations Brought to You Today

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

