3 stars · dystopia · fiction · young adult

Requiem by Lauren Oliver

Requiem

Delirium #3
Book 1: Delirium
Book 2: Pandemonium

author : lauren oliver [also wrote: Before I Fall]

pages : [hardcover] 391

memorable quote Love is a kind of possession. It’s a poison.

summary :

 They have tried to squeeze us out, to stamp us into the past.

But we are still here.

And there are more of us every day.

Now an active member of the resistance, Lena has been transformed. The nascent rebellion that was under way in Pandemonium has ignited into an all-out revolution in Requiem, and Lena is at the center of the fight.

After rescuing Julian from a death sentence, Lena and her friends fled to the Wilds. But the Wilds are no longer a safe haven—pockets of rebellion have opened throughout the country, and the government cannot deny the existence of Invalids. Regulators now infiltrate the borderlands to stamp out the rebels, and as Lena navigates the increasingly dangerous terrain, her best friend, Hana, lives a safe, loveless life in Portland as the fiancée of the young mayor.

Maybe we are driven crazy by our feelings.

Maybe love is a disease, and we would be better off without it.

But we have chosen a different road.

And in the end, that is the point of escaping the cure: We are free to choose.

We are even free to choose the wrong thing.

Requiem is told from both Lena’s and Hana’s points of view. The two girls live side by side in a world that divides them until, at last, their stories converge.

review :

I really enjoyed the Delirium trilogy and wasn’t looking forward to it ending, especially since I recently finished the Divergent trilogy and wasn’t sure I could handle two conclusions so close to each other. But I’ve been waiting to get my hands on Requiem for a while so of course I couldn’t really hold myself back from reading it. This book is pretty long, at nearly four hundred pages, and throughout most of it I honestly felt like I was just waiting for more to happen.

Lena spends a lot of the book talking about Alex and focusing on Alex and wondering what Alex is doing and why Alex isn’t with her or speaking with her. There were some good parts where it was obvious that Lena had grown during her time in the Wilds. She’s willing to stand up for herself, voice her opinion, and risk her life for the ones she now cares about as well as the cause. But she can’t seem to stop fixating on boys, even when there are more important things to think about. Even when they’re in danger. And I feel like she was really unfair to Julian in parts of this book; I knew she was confused, and I understand that, but I really liked Julian after Pandemonium and some of the decisions she made regarding her love life were . . . lacking.

Most of the tension in the book builds up to one big scene which I thought made some parts of the plot drag on but also made me appreciate the action that much more. I wanted Lena to finally have the opportunity to show off how much of a badass she was.

The book is told half through her point of view, half from Hana’s. While both characters were distinct and I didn’t get confused between them, I think I liked Lena’s sections because hers were less predictable. I liked being able to see what happened with Hana after she’d been cured and is now living in the city, a life that Lena easily could have had. I liked seeing it as a comparison between Wilds Lena and conventional Lena, her two possible futures, rather than her life set against her best friend’s.

Overall, this ending really disappointed me. Some of the elements I loved from the first two books were gone. There wasn’t much action or intrigue until the end and the conclusion wasn’t satisfying to me at all. I think there are some people who would be able to read it and appreciate it for what it is. Not me. I feel like I’m still searching for answers.

I’d recommend this book to people who like love triangles, dystopian settings, and don’t mind waiting for some action.

3/5 stars

If you like this book, you might also like Matched or Beta.

2 thoughts on “Requiem by Lauren Oliver

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

