5 stars · steampunk

The Clockwork Scarab by Colleen Gleason

The Clockwork Scarab

author : colleen gleason

pages : [hardcover] 356

favorite characters : mina & evaline

summary :

Evaline Stoker and Mina Holmes never meant to get into the family business. But when you’re the sister of Bram and the niece of Sherlock, vampire hunting and mystery solving are in your blood. And when two society girls go missing, there’s no one more qualified to investigate.

Now fierce Evaline and logical Mina must resolve their rivalry, navigate the advances of not just one but three mysterious gentlemen, and solve murder with only one clue: a strange Egyptian scarab. The stakes are high. If Stoker and Holmes don’t unravel why the belles of London society are in such danger, they’ll become the next victims.

review :

I’ve been looking forward to reading this book for ages, ever since I first heard about it! A young adult steampunk novel with Sherlock Holmes’ niece and Bram Stoker’s daughter as the protagonists? How could it not be awesome? I’m so glad that the writing in this book lived up to the fantastic premise because I loved every part of this book. Every twist in the plot, every alternating point of view, seemed to fit in perfectly. And then, of course, there were the steampunk elements that I absolutely loved. I really need to read more steampunk books but this version of London impressed me.

Once I finished the book, I was still trying to decide which girl I loved and related to more, Mina or Evaline. They both had their shortcomings and their advantages. I think I’d love to be as badass as Evaline was during her scenes but also feel more intellectual and uncomfortable in social situations like Mina. And the boys in this book! I was really relieved when I found out there’s going to be more than one book because I went into this not knowing whether this would be a series. I don’t feel like I got to know enough of the men in the novel, as mysterious and dashing as they are, and I hope more answers and their backstories will be revealed in the next book. Until then, I’ll eagerly wait and try not to worry about it too much.

This is the kind of book with a setting that immerses me in a new world and left me imagining new stories and details in it. I didn’t want to let it go when I closed the book. I could easily see so many new mysteries these two ladies will need to work together on. I can’t wait to see how their odd partnership develops!

If you like mysteries, steampunk, wonderful leading ladies, and a new series to get addicted to, you should pick up this book!

5/5 stars

3 thoughts on “The Clockwork Scarab by Colleen Gleason

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

