Uncategorized

Find Me by Romily Bernard

Find Me

author : romily bernard

pages : [hardcover] 307

favorite characters: bren &  wick

memorable quote Too bad I don’t believe in heroes, super or otherwise.

summary :

“Find Me.”

These are the words written on Tessa Waye’s diary. The diary that ends up with Wick Tate. But Tessa’s just been found . . . dead.

Wick has the right computer-hacking skills for the job, but little interest in this perverse game of hide-and-seek. Until her sister Lily is the next target.

Then Griff, trailer-park boy next door and fellow hacker, shows up, intent on helping Wick. Is a happy ending possible with the threat of Wick’s deadbeat dad returning, the detective hunting him sniffing around Wick instead, and a killer taunting her at every step?

Foster child. Daughter of a felon. Loner hacker girl. Wick has a bad attitude and sarcasm to spare.

But she’s going to find this killer no matter what.

Because it just got personal.

review :

I started reading this book not knowing much about it; I wanted to be surprised by everything and really not know where the plot would take me. I liked not being able to predict everything about this book; there were some revelations that I really hadn’t anticipated that shocked me. A few times I even needed to go back to make sure I’d read everything correctly because I was so surprised that something had happened. Find Me isn’t as much about the note and diary mentioned in the summary as I expected it would be. There’s so much more to the plot, more bad guys to deal with, and more hacking for Wick to do so that she can uncover the answers she’s looking for.

I liked that Wick was so smart with computers because I don’t think I’ve read a book with a female computer hacker before. I’ve always wish I knew enough to fix my own computer, let alone break into another one! I also liked how she could choose to use her skills for good or evil. I thought it was particularly ingenious, what she decided to do for herself and her sister, and when she had her doubts I wanted to keep supporting her and rooting for her. Wick was an interesting character with a complicated past and present, even if some of the decisions she made had me angry with her. She was definitely my favorite and I was glad I was reading from her point of view.

Griff . . . At first, I liked Griff. Then he seemed kind of weird to me, in a bad way, and I thought that things were going to go differently with him because of his actions. I think that I was supposed to like his character a lot more than I actually did as a love interest for Wick. Although I was intrigued by him in the beginning I never felt much of a connection with him. To be honest, some of the scenes with him which I think were supposed to be romantic ended up creeping me out.

I read this book very quickly so there were some strong aspects of it that grabbed me. I wanted to know who was targeting Lily, what was going to happen, and how the book was going to end. However, I don’t think that there was much that stood out about this book that made me love it. If you’re looking for a quick, interesting read, pick this one up. It was good timing for me because I read it on break and wanted an easy read to relax with. If you want a more intellectually stimulating read or something you might want to hang onto and pick up again, maybe you should give Find Me a pass.

3/5 stars

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

