3 stars · fiction · series

Clockwork Prince by Cassandra Clare

Clockwork Prince

The Infernal Devices #2
Book 1: Clockwork Angel

author : cassandra clare

pages : [hardcover] 502

favorite characters : jem & tessa

memorable quote “Ah,” said a voice from the doorway, “having your annual ‘everyone thinks Will is a lunatic’ meeting, are you?”

summary :

In magical Victorian London, orphan Tessa found safety with the Shadowhunters, until traitors betray her to the Magister. He wants to marry her, but so do self-destructive Will and fiercely devoted Jem. Mage Magnus Bane returns to help them. Secrets to her parentage lie with the mist-shrouded Yorkshire Institute’s aged manager Alyosius Starkweather.

review :

As soon as I finished book one I was excited to see how this series was going to continue! I have to admit that it isn’t one of my favorites. Sometimes, it gets a little old knowing that most of the book is going to be dedicated to fueling a love triangle and these books aren’t written with the best writing style. But the world of the Shadowhunters is so interesting and some of the plot points are so intriguing that it’s impossible not to ultimately get caught up in this series, which is a prequel to the Mortal Instruments trilogy.

I loved seeing more of Magnus in this book. He’s always been an interesting character to me, back in the other books, and I love seeing what he was like and how he acts in this time period. Some of it explains why he might have made the decisions he did, in the other trilogy.

Jem had his turn revealing secrets in book one; in book two now it’s time to learn more about Will’s past and why he is the man he is in the present. I loved hearing the reasons behind his disposition and why he ran off to the Institute, abandoning his family. But there were some revelations that just seemed exaggerated. Like the reason behind Gabriel Lightwood’s hatred of Will. Come on. It was nothing to really hold that serious a grudge over.

There was some moving forward with the plot in this book, building up to the conclusion, but when I reached the end I thought that it hadn’t developed as much as I’d have liked it to. There were some interesting and captivating fight scenes but between that there were simply lots of moments for Tessa to ponder over which boy she loved best or plenty of time spent talking about them traveling to one place or another where they might get information but just not enough.

I’d recommend these books for fans of the previous series and I enjoy them myself, even if they aren’t the best out there. I’m interested enough to get my hands on the third book, Clockwork Princess, whenever I can.

3/5 stars

One thought on “Clockwork Prince by Cassandra Clare

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

